Idaho Teen Driving Laws, Insurance Requirements & Drivers License
Information on Idaho Teen Driving Rules, Insurance Requirements & Drivers License
Teen drivers 15 and 16 years old are eligible to participate in the of Idaho Graduated Driver's License Program. This program is similar to other graduated license programs across the United States and helps to limit high risk driving situations for the teen driver while increasing parental involvement and supervision.
Supervised Instruction Permit
To qualify for the permit, applicant must be a minimum of 15 years of age and
- must complete a State of Idaho Approved Driver Training Program
- have a liability signer who assumes the legal responsibility for the actions the teen driver while driving.
- furnish proof of school enrollment or completion of high school
- have visual/medical certification: If you have a vision or medical condition you may need to provide a statement from your doctor verifying your ability to drive a motor vehicle.
- provide proof of identity, age and proof of Idaho State residency
Restrictions Supervised Instruction Permit
The Supervised Instruction Permit holder is required to drive a minimum of 6 months without a conviction for a traffic violation. If the permit holder is convicted of a traffic violation their permit will be cancelled and they must apply for another Supervised Instruction Permit and begin the process again. While the teen driver is operating a motor vehicle a licensed driver 21 years of age or older must occupy the front seat next to the permit holder. No other passengers are allowed in the front seat. Only 1 non-family passenger under the age of 17 is allowed to be in the vehicle when the permit holder is driving. All passengers in the vehicle being driven by the supervised permit holder must wear safety belts or be secured using a child safety seat. The teen driver must carry the Supervised Instruction Permit with them at all times while driving.
During the time that the teen driver holds the supervised instruction permit they must accrue a minimum of 50 hours of driving time. 10 of those 50 hours must be nighttime driving. The permit holder will become eligible for a driver license after 6 months has passed and their permit has been held without a conviction for a traffic violation. Prior to receiving a license the applicant must pass a driving skills and written knowledge test. If a license holder is under 16 years of age when they receive their driver license, they are not allowed to drive at night unless they are accompanied by a licensed driver 21 years of age or older until they reach the age of 17.
Minimum Insurance Requirements in the State of Idaho
It is illegal to drive a vehicle on the roadways of Idaho without minimum liability insurance. The amounts listed below are the minimum coverage amounts allowed by law.
- $25,000 for injury or death of one person
- $50,000 for injury or death of two or more people
- $15,000 for property damage
During vehicle registration you will be required to sign a document certifying that your vehicle meets these minimum liability requirements.
State of Idaho Source Links for This Information
State of Idaho Website - Teen Driving Laws in Idaho
State of Idaho Website - State of Idaho Driver Manual (Download)