Kentucky Teen Driving Laws, Insurance Requirements & Drivers License
Information on Kentucky Teen Driving Rules, Insurance Requirements & Drivers License
Talk to a Local Defense Attorney
Enter the zip code where the incident took place to connect with a lawyer serving that area.
The Kentucky Graduated Licensing Law
The State of Kentucky has a graduated driving system for teen drivers that gives young drivers the opportunity to practice driving and learn the rules of the road under adult supervision. This increases parental involvement and lowers risk situations for the novice driver. After the teen driver has completed criteria associated with their current license, they are allowed to apply for the next level in the graduated licensing system.
The Kentucky Permit Phase
Kentucky teens are allowed to apply for a permit when they reach the age of 16. The following rules apply
- If the applicant is under the age of 18 they must have written permission from the parent or guardian that will take responsibility for the applicant.
- All applicants for a Kentucky permit must pass a vision screening and a written permit test.
- Permit applicants under the age of 21 must hold the permit for at least 180 days while applicants over the age of 21 must hold the permit for at least 30 days.
- While driving the permit holder must be accompanied by an adult driver a minimum of 21 years of age.
- The adult must sit in the front passenger seat directly next to the permit holder.
- During the permit phase the teen driver must complete at least 60 hours of practice driving.
- 10 hours of the 60 hours of practice must be nighttime driving.
- If the permit driver is under the age of 18 they are not allowed to drive between the hours of 12:00 AM and 6:00 AM.
- If the teen driver can demonstrate good cause, they may drive during these restricted hours for emergencies, employment or school.
- Permit holders are limited to one passenger under the age of 20 years old unless the passenger is a directly related family member.
- The driver and passengers must wear safety belts at all times.
- Teen drivers that receive a moving traffic violation must restart the 180 day permit holding period.
Kentucky Intermediate License Phase
- Applicants for the intermediate license must provide signed proof by a parent or legal guardian of 60 hours of practice driving.
- 10 of these 60 hours must be completed at night.
- Drivers under the age of 18 that have completed the permit phase in good standing must pass a driver skills test prior to being issued an intermediate license.
- If the intermediate license holder is under the age of 18 they are not allowed to drive between the hours of 12:00 AM and 6:00 AM.
- If the intermediate license holder can demonstrate good cause, they may drive during these restricted hours for emergencies, employment or school.
- Intermediate license holders are limited to one passenger under the age of 20 years old unless the passenger is a directly related family member.
- Prior to moving to the Unrestricted Licensing phase the Intermediate License holder must complete a State of Kentucky approved new driver education program. The choices include: (a) Graduated Licensing Course (free 4-hour course provided by the Kentucky Transportation Cabinet in the drivers home county), (b) High School Drivers Education Course or a similar course offered by a Kentucky Community College, Vocational School or Job Corps, or (c) Private Driver Training course at a Division of Driver License approved driver training school.
Teen drivers that have received their permit when they were 18 years of age or older do not need to complete the intermediate license phase and may apply for a full license.
Kentucky Teen Driving Laws Update
In 2009 the State of Kentucky passed House Bill 39 (Now Act 46) which exempts 17-year olds who have enlisted in the military and held an instruction permit for 180 days from the requirement to obtain an intermediate license.
Proof of enlistment is required.
Kentucky Full Unrestricted License
If the intermediate license holder has completed all of the criteria listed above they may apply for a Full Unrestricted license.
- All drivers are subject to Kentucky 's point system.
- Any driver under the age of 18 who accumulates more than 6 points may have their driving privilege suspended.
- Teen drivers 18 years of age or older that accumulate 12 points or more may also have their license suspended.
Kentucky Insurance Requirements
It is illegal to drive without insurance in the State of Kentucky. Any vehicle operating or registered in the State must be covered by liability and basic no-fault personal injury insurance. If your vehicle is not covered your driver license could be suspended or you may be fined and lose your license plate.
The minimum insurance requirements in the State of Kentucky are listed below.
- $25,000 / $50,000 Liability for Bodily Injuries
- $10,000 for Property Damage Liability
Liability coverage provides protection for damage to persons or property.
No-fault coverage pays up to $10,000 for medical expenses, lost wages, and replacement services if one is injured in an automobile collision regardless of who may have been at fault. Higher limits of coverage may be purchased.
There are many more details in regards to liability insurance laws in the State of Kentucky that can be found on the State of Kentucky website located in the links posted below.
Follow the links below for more information surrounding Kentucky driving laws found on this website.