Louisiana Teen Driving Laws, Insurance Requirements & Drivers License
Information on Louisiana Teen Driving Rules, Insurance Requirements & Drivers License
The State of Louisiana Graduated License System
The State of Louisiana graduated licensing system gives teens the opportunity to practice driving while reducing high-risk driving situations. Given the high rate of teen driver fatalities in the United States a graduated system such as the one in Louisiana ultimately reduces risk by progressively allowing the teen driver to cautiously move forward through different license levels.
The State of Louisiana Class E Learners Permit
Teen drivers 15 and 16 years of age qualify for the Class E Learners Permit. Prior to receiving the learners permit the applicant must complete a State of Louisiana approved driver education course. This course consists of a minimum of thirty hours of in-class training and six hours of behind the wheel driver training. In addition to these requirements the learner permit applicant must pass a vision screening and a written exam at the Office of Motor Vehicles. Once the teen has received the learners permit the teen may drive only when accompanied by a licensed parent, legal guardian or a licensed adult 21 years of age or older. (They may also drive if they are accompanied by a licensed sibling 18 years of age or older.) Passengers are limited to immediate family members unless accompanied by a driver education teacher. In that case fellow student drivers may be passengers in the vehicle.
A permit holder who has turned 17 years of age and has passed the road skills test is eligible for a full unrestricted license.
State of Louisiana Motorcycle Endorsement
Teen drivers wishing to receive a motorcycle endorsement on their Class E learners permit must complete a written and skills test or the Louisiana Department of Education approved. Completing the "Motorcycle Safety Awareness and Operators Training Program" is also acceptable for the motorcycle endorsement. Learner permit holders that have the motorcycle endorsement may only ride within 3 miles of their residence or the resident of the parent, guardian or appointed responsible adult.
The State of Louisiana Class E Learner's License (17 Years-Old and Above)
New applicants 17 years of age or above may qualify for the Louisiana Class E Learner's License.
- Applicants must provide proof that they have completed a 30-hour driver education course and 8 hours behind the wheel.
- Applicants must also pass a vision screening and a written exam to receive the learner license.
- A State of Louisiana Class E Learner 's License holder must be accompanied by a licensed driver. This restriction is removed when the license holder passes the on-the-road driver test.
The State of Louisiana Class E Intermediate License
Applicants for the Class E Intermediate License must be a minimum of 16 years of age. If the applicant is under the age of 17, they must have held a Class E Learners Permit for a minimum of 180 days prior to applying for the Class E Intermediate License.
The intermediate license restricts teen drivers under the age of 17 from driving between 11:00 PM and 5:00 AM unless they are accompanied by a licensed parent, legal guardian or a licensed adult 21 years of age or older. (A licensed sibling 18 years of age or older is also acceptable during these time restrictions.) In addition to the passenger allowance of the licensed parent, legal guardian or licensed adult 21 years of age or older and immediate family members, the teen may also drive with a driver education teacher with their students as passengers.
The State of Louisiana Personal Vehicle Class E Driver License
Applicants for the Louisiana Class E Driver license must be a minimum of 17 years of age.
- First time applicants must submit written proof of the successful completion of a State of Louisiana 30 hour driver education course and eight hours behind the wheel.
- New applicants transferring from out of State or hold a military or foreign license are exempt from this requirement.
- In addition applicants 17 years of age are exempt if they do not live within 25 miles of a location providing the necessary coursework.
State of Louisiana Insurance Requirements
The State of Louisiana requires proof of liability insurance for all vehicle owners. This proof must be presented whenever a vehicle is registered. The minimum allowable liability insurance for automobiles with a gross weight of 20,000 pounds or less is listed below.
- $10,000/$20,000 Bodily Injury
- $10,000 Property Damage
- Acceptable Proof of Insurance is Listed Below:
- Insurance Policy or Binder
- Insurance Company Identification Card
- Insurance Declaration Page
- Written Statement from Insurance Agent or Company
- Proof of insurance must be presented when you register your vehicle.
Other Louisiana Information
Follow the links below to get additional information regarding Louisiana driving laws.
- Louisiana Cell Phone and Text Messaging Driving Laws
- Louisiana Drunk Driving Laws, Fines and Penalties
- Insurance Requirements
- Speeding Laws