Maine Teen Driving Laws, Insurance Requirements & Drivers License
Information on Maine Teen Driving Rules, Insurance Requirements & Drivers License
Talk to a Local Defense Attorney
Enter the zip code where the incident took place to connect with a lawyer serving that area.
Maine Graduated License System
The State of Maine requires a three-step licensing system for teen drivers under the age of 18. This system reduces high-risk driving situations for new drivers while increasing parental involvement and supervision. Graduated licensing also increases the education requirements for the novice driver and allows teen drivers to gain driving experience with risk reducing restrictions in place.
Maine Instruction Permit
The State of Maine instruction permit is available to teen drivers at the age of 15. The applicant must have completed a State of Maine approved driver education course. In addition the applicant must pass a vision screening test and a written knowledge test. Once the teen driver has received the instruction permit they must be accompanied by a licensed driver a minimum of 20 years old that has held a driver license for two consecutive years. If the applicant is 18 years of age or older the driver education requirement is not mandatory. All applicants must present two forms of identification and birth certificates are required for all applicants under the age of 23.
Maine Learner 's Permit (Under 21 Years of Age)
If a person under the age of 21 is issued a Learner’s Permit they must hold it for 6 months prior to applying for a road test. Learner’s Permit holders are not allowed to use a cellular phone while driving in the State of Maine.
Maine Learner 's Permit (21 Years of Age or Older)
Permit holders that are 21 years of age or older do not have to wait 6 months before to applying for the road test. Permit holders are not allowed to use a cell phone while they are driving.
State of Maine Intermediate License (Under the Age of 18)
Applicants under the age of 18 who qualify will receive an Intermediate License. The intermediate license has the following restrictions:
- the Intermediate License holder cannot carry passengers that are not immediate family members unless accompanied by a licensed driver that is a minimum of 20 years of age and has held a driver license in good standing for the last two years.
- the Intermediate License holder must occupy the seat next to the Intermediate license holder.
- the Intermediate License holder must not operate a motor vehicle from 12:00 AM - 5:00 AM
- the Intermediate License holder must not use a cellular phone while operating a motor vehicle
- the Intermediate License holder must hold the Intermediate License for 180 days before being issued an unrestricted license.
If the Intermediate License holder is convicted of violating any of these restrictions the 180-day waiting period will start anew from the date of the infraction.
State of Maine Driver License
Applicants for a Maine Driver License must be a minimum of 16 years of age. Teen drivers under the age of 18 must have completed a State of Maine Approved driver education course. All applicants must pass a knowledge test, a road-test and a vision screening. Applicants under the age of 21 must complete a minimum of 35 hours of driving practice, five of the 35 hours of driving practice must be nighttime driving. The mandatory driving practice will have taken place after the teen driver has been issued an instruction permit.
The new driver must be accompanied by a licensed driver that is a minimum of 20 years of age and has held a driver license in good standing for the last two years. The first time a license is issued to an applicant under the age of 21 is a provisional license for two years. If the license applicant is under 18 they receive an intermediate license, please read the intermediate license restrictions posted above. If the first time license applicant is at least 21 years of age their license will be provisional for 1 year. A provisional license holder who is convicted of a moving violation, will have his or her license suspended for 30 days for the first offense.
Insurance Requirements in the State of Maine
All drivers in the State of Maine are required to carry minimum of liability insurance, uninsured motorist coverage and coverage for medical payments. The driver must have proof of insurance coverage when registering a vehicle. In addition when a driver is pulled over by a law enforcement official, the officer will require that the driver produce evidence of insurance. The minimum insurance requirements are:
- $50,000 injury or death of one person
- $100,000 per accident that results in the death or injury of more than one person
- $25,000 for property damage
- $2,000 mandatory coverage for medical payments
Additional Maine Information
Follow the links below to get additional information regarding driving laws in Maine.