Minnesota Teen Driving Laws, Insurance Requirements & Drivers License
Information on Minnesota Teen Driving Rules, Insurance Requirements & Drivers License
Talk to a Local Defense Attorney
Enter the zip code where the incident took place to connect with a lawyer serving that area.
The State of Minnesota Graduated License System
The State of Minnesota Graduated License System is designed to move teen drivers Incrementally towards full licensure. The graduated system limits high risk driving situations through restrictions and increases adult supervision. Before the novice driver can move forward through the graduated licensing system, the novice driver must meet certain performance and educational criteria that strengthens their driving knowledge, skill and confidence.
The State of Minnesota Instruction Permit: Phase 1
Applicants for the phase 1 permit must be a minimum of 15 years of age and have signed permission from a parent or legal guardian to apply. The teen driver must also:
- have completed a minimum of 30 hours of classroom training and currently be enrolled in on-the-road driver training.
- pass a vision screening and a written test.
- after being issued the instruction permit they must be accompanied by a driving instructor, licensed parent, legal guardian or a licensed driver that is a minimum of 21 years of age.
All passengers under the age of 18 must wear a safety belt or be properly restrained in a child safety seat when the permit holder is driving. In addition permit holders are not allowed to talk on a cell phone while they are driving and a hands free device is not allowed.
The State of Minnesota Provisional License: Phase 2
The applicant must be a minimum of 16 years of age to apply for the phase 2 provisional license. The applicant must also:
- have completed driver education and held an Instructional Permit for a minimum of 6 months without a conviction for a moving violation, alcohol or a controlled substance, and.
- Passed a road test to receive a phase 2 provisional license.
The responsible adult that signs the Provisional license application must certify that the teen applicant has completed a minimum of 30 hours of supervised driving in the presence of a licensed adult driver that is a minimum of 21 years of age. 10 of the 30 hours of supervised driving must have been nighttime driving.
Teen drivers that are granted a provisional license must ensure that all passengers under the age of 18 are properly restrained with a safety belt or a child safety seat. The provisional license is good for 2 years.
The State of Minnesota Full License: Phase 3
Applicants for the Phase 3 full license must be a minimum of 18 years of age and have held a provisional license for a period of 12 months without a moving violation, alcohol or controlled substance violation. The provisional license expires on the license holder’s 21st birthday.
New Restrictions for Teen Drivers in Minnesota
Nighttime Limitations: First 6 Months of Licensure
Teen drivers are not allowed to drive between 12:00 AM and 5:00 AM except.
- when accompanied by a licensed adult driver 25 years of age or older
- driving to or from a place of employment
- driving to or from a school event that did not offer school transportation
- driving for employment purposes
Teen Passenger Limitations: First 6 Months of Licensure
Only one passenger under the age of 20 is permitted in the vehicle
Teen Passenger Limitations: Second 6 Months of Licensure
Only three passengers under the age of 20 are permitted in the vehicle except when:
- accompaniment by a parent or legal guardian.
- passengers under the age of 20 that are immediate family members
All passengers and driver under the age of 18 must wear a safety belt or be properly restrained in a child safety seat. Teen drivers under the age of 18 may not use a cellular phone even with a hands free device; this includes text messaging and accessing the internet.
It is illegal for any person under the age of 21 to consume alcohol or use illegal drugs at any time. Teen drivers that are cited for driving under the influence will lose their license for a minimum of 30 days for the first offense and are subject to further driving restrictions.
State of Minnesota Insurance Requirements
The State of Minnesota requires all vehicle owners to carry the following insurance:
Personal Injury (also known as PIP insurance)
$40,000 per person for each accident, this includes $20,000 for hospital and medical expenses and $20,000 for non-medical expenses.
- $30,000 for injury to one person
- $60,000 for injury to two or more people
- $10,000 for property damage
- $25,000 for injury to one person
- $50,000 for injury to two or more people
- $25,000 for injuries to one person
- $50,000 for injuries to two or more people
If your car is owned by a lien holder because of a loan, comprehensive and collision coverage are required. Please check with your bank, credit union or loan company for details.
Disclaimer: We try to keep the information provided here up to date. However, laws often change, as do their interpretation and application. Different jurisdictions within a state may enforce the laws in different ways. For that reason, we recommended that you seek the advice of a local attorney familiar with DUI cases in your area.
Other Minnesota Information
Follow the links below to get additional information regarding driving laws in Minnesota.