North Dakota Teen Driving Laws, Insurance Requirements & Drivers License
Information on North Dakota Teen Driving Rules, Insurance Requirements & Drivers License
Talk to a Local Defense Attorney
Enter the zip code where the incident took place to connect with a lawyer serving that area.
Teen Driving and the Graduated License in North Dakota
North Dakota has a Graduate Driver Licensing Program (GDL). GDL laws have been proven to reduce fatalities, lower injuries and ultimately result in safer highways and roadways. New drivers who participate in the GDL system must reach various milestones before they are allowed to graduate to a less restrictive license level and eventually receive a full unrestricted license. The rules described below explain how North Dakota’s GDL system works.
Teen Driving in the State of North Dakota
The applicant must be a minimum of 14 years of age to obtain a driving permit in the State of North Dakota. All applicants must provide valid identification such as a U.S. Birth Certificate or a Valid U.S. Passport. These must be original documents as photocopies are not allowed. For a list of valid identification options please use the links at the end of this page. All applications for a permit must contain the applicants Social Security Number. Teen drivers must pass a written exam and a vision screening prior to receiving a permit. All teen drivers under the age of 18 must have the signature of a parent or legal guardian to apply for a permit.
A North Dakota permit is valid for one year from date of issue. After receiving a permit, teen drivers must drive with a licensed driver that is a minimum of 18 years of age that has had a minimum of three years of driving experience. The supervising driver must occupy the seat next to the permit holder at all times. All teen drivers under the age of 18 must drive with an initial instruction permit for a minimum of 6 months before completing the road test for a North Dakota operator license. If the permit holder is under 16 an approved driver education course must be taken prior to taking the road test.
All permit holders who are under 16 years of age must be accompanied by a parent or guardian when they appear for their road test. After successful completion of the road test a North Dakota restricted license will be issued. Teen drivers under the age of 16 may only drive the parent or legal guardian's vehicle or vehicles equipped with dual controls. Drivers under the age of 16 may not carry more passengers than the vehicle manufacturer's recommended passenger capacity.
North Dakota Restricted License
All qualified North Dakota residents can receive a restricted license at the age of 14. Teen drivers that are 14 or 15 years of age must present an approved driver education certificate prior to taking the road test. The criteria for the certificate includes thirty hours of class work and six hours of on-the-road training with the Department of Public Instruction or a North Dakota Highway Patrol approved commercial driving school. Applicants must provide valid identification, proof of residency and parental or legal guardian approval if under the age of 18. Depending on the teen driver status, they may be restricted in any of the following ways:
- Destination Restrictions A restricted driver license may restrict driving to specific purposes such as employment, religious or school activities. Time Restrictions A restricted driver license may limit driving to specific hours of the day.
- Physical Restrictions A driver may be required to wear corrective lenses or adaptive equipment may need to be placed on the vehicle due to physical limitations.
All applicants for a driver license must visit a North Dakota Driver License and Testing Office. There are no appointments necessary for the written test, however you do need an appointment for the road test.
State of North Dakota Insurance Requirements
All drivers in the State of North Dakota must carry minimum liability insurance. Proof of insurance must be provided when you register your vehicle and when requested by a law enforcement official. The amounts listed below reflect the minimum liability insurance required by State Law.
- $25,000 Bodily Injury per Person
- $50,000 Bodily Injury per Accident
- $25,000 Property Damage per Accident
Keep in mind that these are the minimum requirements; please see your insurance agent for information regarding insurance above and beyond the State of North Dakota's minimum requirements.