New Mexico Teen Driving Laws, Insurance Requirements & Drivers License
Information on New Mexico Teen Driving Rules, Insurance Requirements & Drivers License
The State of New Mexico Graduated License System
Teen drivers under the age of 18 that wish to drive must participate in the State of New Mexico 's Graduated License System. The graduated system provides a restricted series of licenses for young drivers that lowers high risk driving situations and increases parental or adult supervision. As the teen driver progresses in the licensing system the restrictions are reduced as the new drivers work towards the unrestricted driver license.
The State of New Mexico Instructional Permit
Applicants for the New Mexico instructional permit must be a minimum of 15 years of age. The teen applicant must be attending a New Mexico Traffic Safety Bureau approved driver education course. This course will include driving practice and information regarding the DWI (Driving While Intoxicated) law in New Mexico .
Teen drivers that hold an instructional permit must be accompanied by a State of New Mexico approved driving instructor or a licensed adult that is a minimum of 21 years of age and has held a valid driver license for a minimum of 3 years. The adult supervisor or driving instructor must be seated next to the instructional permit holder at all times. The instructional permit must be held for a minimum of 6 months.
The State of New Mexico Provisional License
Applicants for the State of New Mexico Provisional License must be a minimum of 15 years and 6 months old if the applicant has held a State of New Mexico Instructional Permit for 6 months. The teen driver must not have been convicted of a traffic violation within 90 days prior to applying for the provisional license.
All applicants for the provisional license must have completed a minimum of 50 hours of driving practice. 10 of these 50 hours must have been completed as nighttime driving. The teen driver must have a parent or legal guardian certify the 50 hours of practice driving. Prior to receiving the provisional license the applicant must pass a vision screening, a written knowledge test and a driving test.
A provisional license holder must not drive between the hours of midnight and 12:00 AM Unless:
- Accompanied by a licensed driver that is a least 21 years of age
- A Medical Emergency
- Driving to or from a School or Religious Activity Parent / Guardian / Religious Official Signed Statement Required
- Driving Due to Family Necessity Parent / Guardian Signed Statement Required
- Driving Due to Medical Necessity - Parent / Guardian Signed Statement Required
- Driving to or From a Place of Employment Employer Signed Statement Required
State of New Mexico Unrestricted Driver License
Applicants for the Unrestricted Driver License must have held a State of New Mexico provisional license for the 12 months prior to applying for the unrestricted driver license. For the most recent 90 days prior to application, the applicant must not have been convicted of a traffic violation or have a traffic violation pending. The applicant must not have had any offense involving drugs or alcohol while they held their provisional driver license.
State of New Mexico Insurance Requirements
All vehicles registered in the State of New Mexico must have minimum liability insurance for their automobile. The amounts below reflect the minimum requirements.
- $25,000 Bodily Injury or Death of One Person
- $50,000 Bodily Injury or Death of Two or More Persons
- $10,000 Property Damage for any 1 Accident
Keep in mind that these are minimum requirements; you may want to speak with your insurance professional regarding automobile insurance above and beyond these amounts.