New York Teen Driving Laws, Insurance Requirements & Drivers License
Information on New York Teen Driving Rules, Insurance Requirements & Drivers License
Talk to a Local Defense Attorney
Enter the zip code where the incident took place to connect with a lawyer serving that area.
The State of New York Graduated License Law
The State of New York graduated license law, enacted in 2003, provides that teen drivers that hold a junior learner permit or junior driver license, must be accompanied by a licensed adult that is a minimum of 21 years of age. In the State of New York a Junior Driver is a driver that is under the age of 18 and holds either a learner permit or driver license of class MJ or DJ.
- Junior drivers are not allowed to carry more than 1 passenger under the age of 21 unless accompanied by a parent, legal guardian or a certified driving instructor. There is an exception to this law if the passengers under the age of 21 are immediate family members. As the law requires, the supervising licensed adult must ride in the front seat next to the junior driver.
- Passengers that ride with the junior operator must be restrained with safety belts or an approved child safety seat.
Getting a State of New York Learner Permit
Applicants must be a minimum of 16 years of age to apply for a learner permit. Teen drivers under the age of 18 must have a parent or legal guardian sign the consent section of the driver license application.
Teen drivers that hold a Learner Permit will have to wait six months before they can schedule a road test for a license.
- A parent or guardian must verify that 50 hours of driving experience (including 15 hours of night driving) must be completed prior to receiving a license. Teen drivers that are 17 years of age and have a Driver Education Student Certificate of Completion may apply without the parental signature on the driver license application.
- Applicants that do not have a Driver Education Student Certificate of Completion are required to pass a written knowledge test.
- Drivers must provide proof of identity when applying for a State of New York Learner Permit and present your Social Security Card during application.
- When drivers apply for a learner permit, they must pass a vision screening or present an eye test report given by a licensed eye care professional using form MV-619.
- After the teen driver receives a learner permit the New York Department of Motor Vehicles recommends a minimum of 30 hours of driving practice prior to taking a road test. It is also recommended that learner permit holders take professional driving lessons prior to the road test.
- Teen drivers that hold a learner permit must complete a mandatory pre-licensing class or a high school or college education class. Once this course is completed the attendee will receive a pre-licensing course certificate.
- This certificate must be presented to the road test examiner prior to taking the road test.
State of New York Learner Permit Restrictions
Learner Permit Holders in New York are under the following restrictions:
- The driver must be accompanied by a licensed driver that is a minimum of 21 years of age
- The driver may not drive in a Department of Motor Vehicles Road Test Area
- The driver may not drive on any street within a park in New York City
- The driver may not drive in a bridge or tunnel under the jurisdiction of the Triborough Bridge & Tunnel Authority
- The driver may not drive on the Cross County , Hutchinson River , Saw Mill River or Taconic State parkways in Westchester County .
For more information on Teen Driving Laws in the State of New York , please use the State of New York website links at the bottom of this page.
State of New York Insurance Requirements
It is illegal to drive in the State of New York without liability insurance. A New York State insurance identification card must be presented during application for vehicle registration. The minimum liability coverage amounts are listed below.
- $25,000 / $50,000 - Bodily Injury
- $50,000 / $100,000 Death
- $10,000 Property Damage Caused by One Accident
For detailed information on the State of New York Automobile insurance requirements please use the links posted below to the State of New York Department of Motor Vehicles Website.
Other New York Information
Follow the links below to get additional information regarding driving laws in New York.