Pennsylvania Teen Driving Laws, Insurance Requirements & Drivers License
Information on Pennsylvania Teen Driving Rules, Insurance Requirements & Drivers License
Talk to a Local Defense Attorney
Enter the zip code where the incident took place to connect with a lawyer serving that area.
State of Pennsylvania Junior Learner Permit
Applicants must be a minimum of 16 years of age to qualify for the State of Pennsylvania Junior learner permit. The requirements include:
- Applicants must complete the learner permit application and have their medical services provider complete the relevant medical information on the back of the application.
- Teen applicants under the age of 18 years of age must have a parent or legal guardian complete the Parent or Guardian Consent Form.
- If the parent or legal guardian will not be present during application the consent form must be signed in the presence of a notary.
- All applicants for a learner permit must provide 2 proofs of residency in the State of Pennsylvania, such as utility bills, tax records, and W-2 forms.
- Applicants must also provide proof of identity, birth date and a signed social security card.
- After the applicant has passed the knowledge test and the vision screening they will be presented with a learner permit that is valid for 1 year and renewable.
- After receiving the learner permit, teen drivers under the age of 18 are required to complete a minimum of 50 hours of on-the-road driver skill building.
- The permit holder must be accompanied by a licensed driver that is a minimum of 21 years of age or a licensed parent, legal guardian or spouse that is a minimum of 18 years of age.
- In any case the responsible licensed adult must occupy the passenger seat next to the teen driver at all times.
- Passengers in a vehicle being driven by a learner permit holder are limited to the number of seat belts in the vehicle.
- Learner permit holders that are under the age of 18 may not drive between the hours of 11:00 PM and 5:00 AM unless they are accompanied by a licensed driver that is a minimum of 21 years of age or a licensed parent, legal guardian or spouse that is a minimum of 18 years of age.
- Teen drivers that hold a learner permit must wait a minimum of 6 months and completed the certified 50 hours of driver skill building before taking the road test.
State of Pennsylvania Junior Driver License
Junior permit holder's that have passed the road test and completed the other permit criteria may be issued a Junior License. Additional requirements include:
- The junior license is still restricted for driving between the hours of 11:00 PM and 5:00 AM unless accompanied by a licensed driver that is a minimum of 21 years of age or a licensed parent, legal guardian or spouse that is a minimum of 18 years of age.
- Exceptions may be granted for employment, volunteer or charitable causes if the junior license holder is carrying notarized documentation of the event.
- Like the junior learner permit restriction listed above, passengers are limited to the number of safety belts in the vehicle.
- A teen driver may have their junior license suspended for 90 days if they are convicted of a high speed driving violation or, if they accumulate 6 or more points on their driving record.
If the teen driver has held the junior license for 1 year they may apply for a regular driver license if the driver meets the following criteria:
- The driver has passed a Pennsylvania Department of Education Approved driver training course
- The driver has not been at fault in a crash for a period of 1 year
- The driver has not been convicted of a traffic violation for a period of 1 year
- If under 18 The driver has the written consent of a parent or legal guardian or spouse that is a minimum of 18 years of age.
The Junior license will automatically become a regular license when the teen driver meets all requirements and turns 18 years of age.
Insurance Requirements in the State of Pennsylvania
The financial responsibility law in the State of Pennsylvania requires that financial responsibility be continuously maintained for all registered vehicles in the state. The amounts below reflect the minimum coverage required by law:
- $15,000 Bodily Injury for 1 Person in any 1 Accident
- $30,000 Bodily Injury for 2 or more Persons in any 1 Accident
- $5,000 Damage to the Property of Others in any 1 Accident
Keep in mind that these are minimum requirements, and you may want to speak to your insurance agent about coverage above and beyond the minimum amount required by state law.
Other Pennsylvania Information
Follow the links below to get additional information found on this website regarding Pennsylvania driving laws.