Vermont Teen Driving Laws, Insurance Requirements & Drivers License
Information on Vermont Teen Driving Rules, Insurance Requirements & Drivers License
The State of Vermont Learner Permit
Applicants for a Vermont learner permit must be a minimum of 15 years of age and must provide valid proof of identity with name, birth date and proof of Vermont residency. Applicants must also have a Social Security Number or be in possession of a J2 Visa. Teen drivers must pass a vision screening and a written test prior to receiving a learner permit. Applicants under the age of 18 must have their parents sign the application for permission prior to being tested.
Who must accompany? After all of the application criteria have been met, the teen driver will receive a learner permit. Learner permit holders may only drive when accompanied by one of the following:
- an unimpaired licensed parent or guardian
- an unimpaired licensed and approved driver training instructor
- an unimpaired licensed adult who is a minimum of 25 years of age
Driving practice. While holding the learner permit the teen driver must accrue 40 hours of driving practice. 10 of the 40 hours must be nighttime driving.
These practice driving hours must be documented and the responsible adult must be seated in the front passenger seat next to the learner permit holder at all times.
Driver training course. In addition to the requirements listed above, the learner permit holder may not apply for a Vermont Junior Operator License until they successfully complete an approved driver training course that consists of 6 hours of on-the-road training.
Eligibility for next level. A Vermont Learner Permit must be held for a minimum of 1 year with a clean driving record for the past six months before the holder is eligible for a junior operator license and the teen driver must provide proof of completion to the Department of Motor Vehicles when applying for the junior operator license.
The State of Vermont Junior Operation License
Teen drivers that receive a junior operator license and are under the age of 18 may not drive for purposes of employment within the first year. In addition junior operator license holders may not carry passengers for hire.
For the first 3 months that a teen driver holds the junior operator license they may only drive alone, or with any of the following:
- an unimpaired licensed parent or legal guardian
- an unimpaired licensed certified driver training instructor
- an unimpaired licensed adult that is a minimum of 25 years of age
With any of the persons listed above a junior operator license holder may carry as many passengers as there are safety belts in the vehicle.
After 3 months, a junior operator license holder may drive with immediate family members in the vehicle as long as the number does not exceed the number of safety belts in the vehicle. After 6 months, the teen driver that holds a junior operator license may drive with any number of passengers even if they are not immediate family members as long as they do not exceed the number of safety belts in the vehicle.
The State of Vermont Operator License
The applicant must be a minimum of 18 years of age to qualify for a Vermont Operator License. Applicants for an operator license must not have had any recalls, suspensions or revocations for 6 months prior to application.
Insurance Requirements in the State of Vermont
Under Vermont 's Financial Responsibility and Insurance laws you may not operate a motor vehicle in the State without a minimum liability policy in place. Drivers who violate this law are subject to fines and points against their driving record. The amounts listed below reflect the minimum liability required by State law.
- $25,000 Bodily Injury or Death of 1 Person
- $50,000 Bodily Injury or Death for 2 or more Persons
- $10,000 Damage to the Property of Others for any 1 Accident
A driver may also file evidence of self-insurance with the commissioner of motor vehicles for the amount of $115,000.
Keep in mind that the numbers listed above are the minimum amounts required by law; you may want to speak to your insurance agent about coverage above and beyond the legal minimum.