Virginia Teen Driving Laws, Insurance Requirements & Drivers License

Information on Virginia Teen Driving Rules, Insurance Requirements & Drivers License

Need Professional Help? Talk to a Local Defense Attorney.

Enter Your Zip Code to Connect with a Lawyer Serving Your Area

searchbox small

The State of Virginia Learner's Permit

Applicants must be a minimum of 15 years and six months of age to qualify for a State of Virginia learner’s permit. Teen drivers under the age of 19 must prove successful completion of a State of Virginia approved driver education program. In addition, the parent or legal guardian of a teen driver under the age of 18 must certify that the learner’s permit applicant had completed 45 hours of practice driving. 15 out of the 45 hours of practice driving must be completed after sunset.

  • Applicants for a learner’s permit must pass a two part knowledge test and a vision screening prior to receiving a permit.
  • Applicants must also prove State of Virginia residency, legal presence in the United States and provide a Social Security Number if they have one.

Teen drivers under the age of 19 that hold a learner’s permit may only drive when accompanied by a licensed driver that is a minimum of 21 years of age.

  • The under-19 permit holder may be accompanied by a licensed driver that is a minimum of 18 years of age if they are an immediate family member.
  • In any case the responsible license holder must be seated next to the learner’s permit holder at all times while driving.
  • Learner’s permit holders under the age of 19 must hold a learner’s permit for a minimum of 9 months or until they turn 19 years of age before they can apply for a Virginia driver license.
  • Permit holders over the age of 19 must hold a learner’s permit for a minimum of 30 days before they can apply for a Virginia driver license or present proof of completing a State of Virginia approved driver education program.
  • Teen drivers under the age of 18 that hold a learner’s permit are subject to the State of Virginia curfew restrictions and may not drive between the hours of 12:00 AM and 4:00 AM.
  • In addition, permit holders under the age of 18 may only drive with one passenger under the age of 18 that is not an immediate family member.
  • At no time may a driver under the age of 18 use a cellular phone or any other electronic communication devices while driving. This includes text messaging and does not allow an exception for hands-free devices.

"Every application for a driver's license or a learner's permit submitted by a person less than 18 years old and attending a public school in the Commonwealth shall be accompanied by a document, signed by the applicant's parent or legal guardian, authorizing the principal, or his designee, of the school attended by the applicant to notify the Department when the applicant has had 10 or more unexcused absences from school on consecutive school days."

The State of Virginia Driver License

Applicants must be a minimum of 16 years and 3 months of age to qualify for a Virginia driver license. Applicants under the age of 18 must have written consent from their parent or legal guardian. The consent is given when the parent or legal guardian signs the driver license application.

  • If the applicant is between 16 years, 3 months and 18 years of age the applicant may drive without a licensed driver provided the applicant has held a Virginia learner’s permit for a minimum of 9 months and you present your driver education certificate.
  • Applicants for a driver license must provide proof of Virginia residency, Citizenship and provide a Social Security Number if you have been issued one.

Teen drivers under the age of 18 that hold a learner’s permit are subject to the State of Virginia curfew restrictions and may not drive between the hours of 12:00 AM and 4:00 AM. Please see the exceptions listed below.

Licensed drivers under the age of 18 may only drive without a parent or qualifying adult present:

  • For emergency purposes
  • Driving to and from a school sanctioned event
  • Responding to an emergency call as a volunteer firefighter of rescue squad member

Teen drivers that hold a driver license may not drive with more than one passenger under the age of 18 that is not an immediate family member for the first year that they hold their license.

  • After one year or when the teen driver turns 18 years of age, the license holder may carry up to three passengers under the age of 18.
  • Teen drivers under the age of 18 may not use a cellular phone or any other electronic communication devices while driving. This includes text messaging and does not allow an exception for hands-free devices.

State of Virginia Insurance Requirements

In the State of Virginia you must maintain minimum liability insurance at all times. If your insurance lapses or it is cancelled without renewal, you may have your license and your vehicle registration suspended. Your insurance policy should provide the minimum coverage listed below.

  • $25,000   Bodily Injury or Death of 1 Person
  • $50,000   Bodily Injury or Death of 2 or more Persons
  • $20,000   Damage to the Property of Others

You must insure your vehicle with at company authorized to do business in the State of Virginia . Keep in mind that these are minimum requirements, you may want to speak with your insurance agent regarding insurance above and beyond the legal minimum.

Talk to a Lawyer

Start here to find defense attorneys near you.
HOW IT WORKS
how it works 1
Briefly tell us about your case
how it works 2
Provide your contact information
how it works 1
Connect with local attorneys
LA-NOLO3:DRU.1.6.5.20141111.29342