Wyoming Teen Driving Laws, Insurance Requirements & Drivers License

Information on Wyoming Teen Driving Rules, Insurance Requirements & Drivers License

Need Professional Help? Talk to a Local Defense Attorney.

Enter Your Zip Code to Connect with a Lawyer Serving Your Area

searchbox small

The Graduated Licensing program in Wyoming gives teen drivers under the age of 17 the opportunity to practice driving with certain restrictions in place. As the teen driver completes the requirements of their current permit or license they are allowed to graduate to a less restrictive license level and eventually receive a full unrestricted license.

The State of Wyoming Instruction Permit

To qualify for an instruction permit, applicants must meet the following qualifications: Drivers must be at least 15 years of age and must present acceptable proof of identity such as a state certified birth certificate, United States passport; State issued identification card or official immigration documents. Teen drivers must pass a vision screening and a written knowledge test. Applicants under the age of 18 must have a release signed by a parent or legal guardian to receive an instruction permit.

Permit holders may only drive while accompanied by a licensed driver 18 years or older. The licensed driver must occupy the front passenger seat next to the permit holder at all times while driving. The instruction permit is valid for 1 year from the date of issue.

The Wyoming Instruction Permit for the Restricted License

Applicants for the restricted license that are under the age of 16 must hold an instruction permit for the restricted license for a minimum of 10 days prior to receiving a State of Wyoming restricted license. Teen drivers that hold this type of instruction permit may only drive while accompanied by a licensed driver that is a minimum of 18 years of age.

The permit holder must carry the restricted permit at all times while driving. The fully licensed driver must occupy the front passenger seat next to the restricted permit holder at all time while driving. The instruction permit for the restricted license allows the holder to drive for 60 days while accompanied by the license holder.

The State of Wyoming Restricted License

Restricted licenses may be issued to drivers between the ages of 14 and 16 years of age under conditions of Extreme Inconveniences.

The conditions that constitute extreme inconveniences:

  • The person lives more than 5 miles from school and they must drive to get there
  • The person is employed at a location more than 5 miles from school
  • The person must drive during the course of employment at their parents business
  • Other reasons as approved by the Wyoming Highway Patrol

Restricted licenses must be approved by the Wyoming Highway Patrol. The restricted license holder may only drive between the hours of 5:00 AM and 8:00 PM within a 50 mile radius of their residence.

The Wyoming Intermediate Permit

Applicants for the Wyoming intermediate permit must be at least 16 years and have held an instruction permit for a minimum of 10 days. Applicants must present acceptable proof of identity such as a state certified birth certificate, United States passport; state-issued identification card or official immigration documents. Teen drivers must provide proof of 50 hours of practice driving. 10 out of the 50 hours of practice driving must have been nighttime driving. This proof must be certified by a parent or legal guardian and applicants must also pass a vision screening and a driver skills test. (If the teen driver has completed a State of Wyoming approved driver education course the driver skills test may be waived.) All teen drivers under the age of 18 must have a signed minor's release from their parent or legal guardian. The intermediate permit is valid until 30 days after the 17th birthday of the holder.

Intermediate permit holders may not drive between the hours of 11:00 PM and 5:00 a.m. except under the following conditions:

  • They are accompanied by a licensed driver that is at least 18 years of age
  • They must drive for medical reasons; verified by medical personnel
  • They must drive for purposes of employment; verified by employer
  • Driving to or from school or a school sanctioned activity; verified by parent or guardian
  • Driving to or from an organized youth sports activity; verified by parent or legal guardian
  • Driving to or from a religious activity; verified by a parent or legal guardian

The teen driver must carry the exception form verification signed by the appropriate person while driving and present this exception to a law enforcement officer on request.

State of Wyoming Full Privilege Driver License

Applicants for a Wyoming driver license must be a minimum of 16 ½ years of age to qualify. The applicant must have held an intermediate permit for a minimum of 10 days without a suspension and completed a State of Wyoming driver education course. Teen drivers must present a signed Certificate of completion from the approved education course to qualify for a full driver license.

Applicants must present acceptable proof of identity such as a state certified birth certificate, United States passport; State issued identification card or official immigration documents. All teen drivers under the age of 18 must have a signed minor's release from their parent or legal guardian.

Insurance Requirements in the State of Wyoming

All registered vehicles in the State of Wyoming must be covered by a minimum liability insurance policy. If continuous insurance is not maintained you may be fined or have your registration and license plate confiscated by the DMV. The minimum insurance requirements are listed below.

  • $25,000 bodily injury or death to 1 person in any 1 accident
  • $50,000  bodily Injury or death to 2 or more persons in any 1 accident
  • $20,000  damage to the property of others in any 1 accident

Keep in mind that these are minimum requirements.

Other Wyoming Information

Talk to a Lawyer

Start here to find defense attorneys near you.
HOW IT WORKS
how it works 1
Briefly tell us about your case
how it works 2
Provide your contact information
how it works 1
Connect with local attorneys
LA-NOLO1:DRU.1.6.3.6.20141124.29342