To qualify for a disability parking plates or placards
(sometimes referred to as a “handicapped sticker”) in Washington, the applicant
must meet one of the conditions described below and must obtain a licensed
physician’s certification prior to the initial issuance of disability access
- You can’t walk 200 feet without stopping to
- Your ability to walk is severely limited due to
an arthritic, neurological, or orthopedic condition.
- You’re so severely disabled that you can’t walk
without the use of or assistance from a brace, cane, another person, prosthetic
device, wheelchair, or other assistive device.
- You use portable oxygen.
- You’re restricted by lung disease to such an
extent that forced expiratory respiratory volume when measured by spirometry is
less than 1 liter/second or the arterial oxygen tension is less than 60 mm/hg
on room air at rest.
- You’re impaired by cardiovascular disease or
cardiac condition to the extent that your functional limitations are classified
as Class III or IV under standards accepted by the American Heart Association.
- You have a disability resulting from an acute
sensitivity to automobile emissions which limits or impairs your ability to
walk. Your physician, physician assistant, or advanced registered nurse
practitioner must document that the disability is comparable in severity to the
others listed above.
- You’re legally blind and have limited mobility.
have acute sensitivity to light associated with a form of porphyria that would
significantly benefit from a decrease in exposure to light. Porphyria refers to
a group of inheritable metabolic disorders in which exposure to light can
result in burning, blistering, swelling, and scarring of the skin..
You can seek either plates or a placard by sending in
Washington’s application for disability parking
identification. Bring the application in person at any vehicle
licensing office except Schmidt Insurance Service in Odessa. Or mail it to: Individuals with Disabilities. Department of Licensing. PO Box 9043, Olympia WA 98507-9043.
Types of Disability Access Parking Plates and Placards
Washington issues placards and license plates for:
Disabled Person Parking Permit – valid for five years
Disabled Person Parking Permit -- If you have a temporary condition that
meets disabled parking requirements, you may ask to have disabled parking
privileges for up to 6 months.
Abusing Disabled Parking Privileges
Drivers in Washington who abuse disability parking may
have their vehicles towed and may be subject to a fine of $450.
Out of state
Washington recognizes out-of-state disability permits.