Alabama Cell Phone & Texting and Driving Laws
Talk to a Local Defense Attorney
Enter the zip code where the incident took place to connect with a lawyer serving that area.
In 2012, Alabama became the 38th state to ban texting while driving. All drivers are prohibited from texting. Novice drivers are also banned from all cell phone use.
Cell Phone Use
Novice drivers in Alabama - drivers aged 16 or 17 with an intermediate license less than 6 months – are banned from using cell-phones (both handheld and hands-free) and, like all drivers, banned from texting.
All drivers are banned from texting while driving.
Like all drivers, bus drivers are banned from texting.
Fines for texting are $25 (first offense) then $50 and $75. A driver will also be penalized with two points against the driver’s license. Alabama’s cell phone and texting laws are considered “primary” laws. A primary law means that an officer can pull over a novice driver for texting without having to witness some other violation. That is, the officer sees the novice driver texting and simply issues a citation.