Idaho Cell Phone & Texting and Driving Laws
Talk to a Local Defense Attorney
Enter the zip code where the incident took place to connect with a lawyer serving that area.
Cell Phone Laws
There is no state-wide prohibition of cell phone use Idaho. Several municipalities have proposed legislation and the City of Sandpoint passed an anti-handheld cell phone ban while driving within the city limits. (The fine is $10 and it is subject to secondary enforcement.) Idaho does have a “Continuing Distraction Law” (also known as an “Inattentive Driving Law”) which requires police officers to list cell phone or texting as causes for an accident. Apparently, the law is rarely enforced.
All drivers, regardless of age, are prohibited from texting while driving in Idaho. Fines start at $85.
Other Idaho Information on this Website
Follow the links below to get more information on driving laws in Idaho.