Alaska Teen Driving Laws, License and Insurance Requirements
Information on Alaska Teen Driving Rules, Insurance Requirements & Drivers License
To receive an instructional or learner’s permit in the State of Alaska you must be 14 years of age. While the teen driver is under the age of 18 they must receive parental consent to apply and receive a new permit. In addition a parent must also give their permission for a duplicate permit or to renew a permit.
In the State of Alaska a teen driver can only have their permit renewed once. Like other states, Alaska teen drivers are required to pass a written test as well as a vision test. Learner’s permits for teen drivers are valid for 2 years. If a teen driver has a permit from another state, they still must be tested and issued a learner’s permit in the State of Alaska to drive legally. While driving with a learner’s permit in Alaska, the teen driver must be accompanied by a person 21 years of age or older with a valid driver’s license and sit in the passenger seat, next to the teen driver at all times. The accompanying driver must have a minimum of 1 year of driving experience.
Provisional Licensing in the State of Alaska
For a teen driver (Under 18) to obtain a provisional license in Alaska, the driver must have held a State of Alaska instructional permit for a minimum of 6 months. The parent of the teen driver, or, a legal guardian or employer must provide proof that the teen has a minimum of 40 hours of driving experience. 10 hours of this experience must have been under “challenging” circumstances such as nighttime driving and inclement weather.
If the teen driver has been convicted of the violation of a traffic law, the driver must wait a minimum of 6 months before applying for a provisional driver’s license. To receive a provisional driver’s license in Alaska, a road test is required. Once the provisional license is received, the driver must wait a minimum of 6 months before graduation to a regular driver’s license. Teen drivers under the age of 18 must have parental consent to graduate from a provisional driver’s license to a regular driver’s license.
Provisional Driver’s License Restrictions:
- No passengers under the age of 21 with the exception of siblings.
- No Driving between 1:00 am and 5:00 am
Exceptions to these restrictions:
- If the teen provisional license holder is accompanied by a person 21 years of age with a valid driver’s license, or
- If driving to and from a place of employment, or within the scope of your employment. Driving must be along the most direct route.
The rules above only apply to teen drivers under the age of 18. Violations of these restrictions will be a 2 point violation on your driving record.
Alaska Auto Insurance and Financial Responsibility Laws
The State of Alaska has both financial responsibility and mandatory insurance laws. Alaska’s mandatory insurance laws apply to both teen drivers and adults. This insurance law requires the operator of a motor vehicle to maintain liability insurance while the vehicle is being driven in the State of Alaska. The minimum liability coverage amounts are $50,000 for injury or death to any one person. In addition the insurance must provide $100,000 worth of coverage for total injury or death per collision and $25,000 worth of insurance for property damage.
If you are involved in an accident in the State of Alaska, the drivers of the vehicles are required to show proof of liability insurance if the accident resulted in injury, death or damage to property exceeding $500. This proof of insurance must be shown by filling out the certificate of insurance form provided by the investigating police officer at the scene of the accident. This form is also available at the Department of Motor Vehicles.
If proof of liability insurance is not provided, the driver will have their license suspended from 90 days to 1 year. This suspension will occur regardless of who was responsible for the accident. A driver may apply for a limited license for work purposes during the time that the suspension is in effect. Once the suspension is over, the driver must reinstate their privilege to drive.
Other Alaska Information on Our Website
- Alaska Cell Phone and Text Messaging Laws
- Alaska Drunk Driving Laws, Penalties and Fines
- Speeding Laws