If you get caught running a stop sign or red light in Alaska, you'll likely face fines and demerit points on your driving record. (Drivers might have other options for dealing with their ticket, including fighting it.) This article gives an overview of what the law prohibits and some specific consequences of a stop sign or red light violation.
At a red light (solid or flashing) or stop sign, motorists must make a complete stop at a clearly marked stop line or before entering the crosswalk on the near side of the intersection. And if there is no stop line or crosswalk, the driver needs to stop before entering the intersection itself.
Alaska law allows motorists to make a right turn after stopping at a red light unless there's a sign indicating the turn is prohibited.
In Alaska, motorists are allowed to make a left onto a one-way street after stopping at a red light, provided there's no sign prohibiting such a turn.
In Alaska, a steady yellow light is a warning that the light is about to turn red. In other words, you're allowed to enter an intersection while the light is still yellow, just not after it has turned red.
Unlike many other states, Alaska doesn't use cameras to detect red-light violators.
Depending on the circumstances, the maximum fine for a stop sign or red light violation ranges from $75 to $150. The violation will also add four demerit points to the motorist's driving record.
In certain situations, a red light or stop sign violation could also lead to a reckless driving conviction. And if one of these offenses results in the death of another person, vehicular homicide charges are another possibility.