Mississippi Teen Driving Laws, Insurance Requirements & Drivers License

Information on Mississippi Teen Driving Rules, Insurance Requirements & Drivers License

Need Professional Help? Talk to a Local Defense Attorney.

Enter Your Zip Code to Connect with a Lawyer Serving Your Area

searchbox small

State of Mississippi Learner 's Permit

You must be a minimum of 14½ years of age to be eligible for a permit in The State of Mississippi. Teen applicants 14½ years old must show proof of enrollment in an approved driver education program. The learner permit for 14½ year olds may only be used while taking instruction in a driver education training vehicle with the instructor present in the vehicle.

When a teen driver that holds a 14½ year old permit turns 15, they must apply for a 15 year old learner's permit. After meeting all of the eligibility requirements, the teen driver will receive the 15 year old learner permit. 

Drivers holding an Intermediate License or Temporary Learning or Driving Permit are prohibited from sending or receiving written messages while driving.

Teen Driver Permit Applicants Must Complete the Following:

  • Obtain certification of school attendance signed within 30 days of application
  • Have a social security card or printout from the social security administration office
  • Have a completed application signed by parents or legal guardian
  • Have a certified copy of birth certificate
  • Pass a written test
  • Pass a vision screening
  • Pay the required fee

State of Mississippi Intermediate License

Applicants for a State of Mississippi Intermediate License must hold a learner permit for a minimum of 1 Year prior to application. Teen drivers must meet all of the requirements listed above for the Learner Permit and pass a driving skills test to qualify for the Intermediate License.

Once the Intermediate license has been issued, the holder of the license may drive unsupervised between 6:00 AM and 10:00 PM. Sunday through Thursday, 6:00 a.m. to 11:30 p.m. Friday and Saturday, and drive unsupervised driving any time for a person traveling directly to or from work. If the teen driver wishes to drive outside of these hours, they must be supervised by a parent, legal guardian or a licensed adult that is a minimum of 21 years of age. The licensed adult must occupy the seat next to the intermediate license holder.

Drivers Holding An Intermediate License or Temporary Learning or Driving Permit are prohibited from sending or receiving written messages while driving. 

State of Mississippi Regular Class R Driver License

You must be a minimum of 15 years and 6 months old and held a learner permit for at least 6 months to be eligible for the Regular Class R Driver License. Applicants must provide the information listed below.

  • Obtain certification of school attendance signed within 30 days of application (If under 18)
  • Have a social security card or printout from the social security administration office
  • Have a completed application signed by parents or legal guardian
  • Have a certified copy of birth certificate
  • Pass a driving skills test (waived if over 18 and held out of state license for six months)
  • Provide proof of Mississippi reisdence
  • Pay the required fee

Automobile Insurance Requirements in Mississippi

All vehicles on the roads of Mississippi must be covered by minimum financial responsibility requirements. The numbers listed below are the minimum requirements; please check with your insurance agent on how much insurance you should carry above and beyond the State of Mississippi minimum requirements.

  • $25,000 - Per Person For a Single Accident
  • $50,000 - Bodily Injury Per Accident 
  • $25,000 - Damage to the Property of Others

Drivers should purchase additional insurance if they wish to cover medical bills and vehicle repairs.

by: , Attorney

Talk to a Lawyer

Start here to find defense attorneys near you.
HOW IT WORKS
how it works 1
Briefly tell us about your case
how it works 2
Provide your contact information
how it works 1
Choose attorneys to contact you
LA-NOLO2:DRU.1.6.1.20140626.27175