Nevada Teen Driving Laws, Insurance & License
Information on Nevada Teen Driving Rules, Insurance Requirements & Drivers License
State of Nevada Instruction Permit
Teen applicants may apply for a State of Nevada Instruction Permit when they are 15½ years old. They must bring valid identification such as a birth certificate and provide a Social Security Number if they have been issued one. Teen drivers must also pass a vision screening and written knowledge tests. A parent or legal guardian must sign the financial responsibility portion of your permit application. Teen drivers that receive an instruction permit must drive with a licensed adult driver that is a minimum of 21 years of age with a minimum of one year of driving experience. The licensed adult must be seated next to the instruction permit holder at all times. The State of Nevada Instruction Permit is valid for a period of one year. If the permit expires the holder must apply, in person, at the Department of Motor Vehicles. If the Instruction Permit is expired for more than 30 days then the teen driver will have to re-take the written test. If the expired permit holder waits more than one year to renew the permit the applicant must again show proof of identity.
Teen drivers are expected to complete 50 hours of on-the-road experience. 10 of the 50 hours must be completed as nighttime driving. If driver education is not available within 30 miles of your residential address and you do not have Internet Access, you must complete a minimum of 100 hours of supervised behind-the-wheel experience. 10 of the 100 hours must be nighttime driving. Teen drivers must keep a log of the supervised driving dates and times. This form is provided by the DMV. The parent or legal guardian must sign the log and it must be submitted when the permit holder applies for their full driver license.
State of Nevada Full Driver License
You must be a minimum of 16 years of age to apply for an unrestricted full license. The applicant must have held an Instruction Permit for a minimum of six months prior to applying for the driver license. Additionally, the permit holder must have not been at fault in any accident or convicted of a moving violation for a minimum of six months prior to applying for a full driver license. The applicant must have no alcohol or drug convictions for six months prior to full license application.
State of Nevada Driving Restrictions
During the 1st six months that a teen driver holds a full driver license, they must not drive with passengers under the age of 18 unless they are immediate family members. In addition, teen drivers cannot driver between 10:00 pm and 5:00 am unless under the following circumstances:
- driving to or from a place of employment
- driving to or from a school sanctioned activity
- teen drivers are expected to produce evidence of the event if it is requested by a law enforcement officer.
Parental Options for Teen Drivers Under 18
The parent or legal guardian who signed the Financial Responsibility Statement may request that the driver license or permit of a teen driver be cancelled until the teen turns the age of 18.
State of Nevada Insurance Requirements
It is against the law to drive a vehicle in the State of Nevada without minimum liability insurance. The State of Nevada has a Insurance Verification Program that is used to identify motorists that do not have automobile insurance. Evidence of insurance must be carried in your vehicle at all times and shown to a law enforcement officer upon request. The minimum liability requirements are listed below.
- $15,000 bodily injury or death of one person in any one accident
- $30,000 bodily injury or death of 2 or more persons in any one accident
- $10,000 injury or destruction of the property of others in any one accident
This insurance coverage must be reported by a State of Nevada authorized insurance company to the State of Nevada Department of Motor Vehicles.