A Nevada driver who accumulates 12 points will receive a notice of suspension. The suspension will be effective 30 days after the mailing date of the notice and the length of the suspension will depend on the number of prior point-related suspensions the driver has.
Nevada has two types of speeding laws: a “basic speeding law” and “absolute limits.” This article explains the differences between the two and the consequences of a speeding violation. (Also, check out our article that discusses the different types of speeding laws.) Basic Speeding Law Nevada’s
Nevada drivers who run a stop sign or stop light will likely have to pay a fine. Red light and stop sign violations will also add demerit points to the motorist’s driving record. This article gives an outline of what the law says and some of the specific consequences of a stop sign or red light ticket.
Nevada prohibits driving without a license, whether suspended, revoked, canceled, or never issued. This article explains how these violations are defined, the possible penalties of a violation, and who is exempt from the normal licensing requirements.
Obtaining a commercial driver's license (CDL) in Nevada requires passage of a skills and knowledge test based upon the type of commercial motor vehicles (CMV) being driven. Federal law requires that CDL drivers crossing state lines must be 21 years of age. States may set different age limits for commercial drivers that operate solely within the state.
Nevada’s child restraint law requires children younger than six years old and weighing 60 pounds or less to be secured in a child restraint system. The law also provides exceptions for certain types of vehicles and situations.