Oklahoma Teen Driving Laws, Insurance Requirements & Drivers License
Information on Oklahoma Teen Driving Rules, Insurance Requirements & Drivers License
Teen Driving and the Graduated License in Oklahoma
Oklahoma has a Graduated Driver Licensing Program (GDL). GDL laws have been proven to reduce fatalities, lower injuries and ultimately result in safer highways and roadways. New drivers who participate in the GDL system must reach various milestones before they are allowed to graduate to a less restrictive license level and eventually receive a full unrestricted license. The rules described below explain how Oklahoma’s GDL system works. Teen drivers in the State of Oklahoma may begin practice driving with a driving instructor when they are 15 years of age. There is no permit required as long as the driving is done with a certified driving instructor.
The Oklahoma Learner’s Permit
The applicant must be a minimum of 15½ years of age to apply for a State of Oklahoma learner’s permit. Applicants for the learner’s permit must be currently enrolled in a State approved driver education course or have completed an approved driver education course. Teen drivers that are 16 years of age may receive their learner’s permit without the driver education requirement. All applicants must pass a written test and a vision screening. Teen drivers that receive a learner’s permit may only drive while accompanied by a licensed driver that is a minimum of 21 years of age.
The Oklahoma Intermediate License
To receive a State of Oklahoma Intermediate License the teen driver must have held a learner’s permit for a minimum of six months. Applicants for the intermediate license must have completed a minimum of 50 hours of on-the-road training with a licensed adult that is a minimum of 21 years of age and has held a driver license for a minimum of two years. 10 out of the 50 hours of driving must have been nighttime driving. Applicants for the intermediate license must have no traffic convictions on their driving record and must have passed a driver skills exam.
Intermediate license holders may only drive between the hours of 5:00 am to 11:00 pm except under the following conditions:
- when accompanied by a licensed driver who is a minimum of 21 years of age
- for school sanctioned activities
- for employment purposes
Teen drivers that hold the intermediate license may only drive with one passenger unless they are immediate family members or they are accompanied by a licensed driver that is a minimum of 21 years of age.
The Oklahoma Unrestricted License
Applicants for the State of Oklahoma Unrestricted license must have held an Intermediate License for a minimum of six months if they have completed driver education. If the teen driver has not completed driver education they must have held the intermediate license for a minimum of one year. All applicants must have Zero traffic convictions on their driving record.
Insurance Requirements in Oklahoma
All drivers in the State of Oklahoma must carry a minimum amount of liability insurance. Proof of liability insurance must be presented after an accident or when requested by a law enforcement official. The amounts listed below reflect the minimum requirements for liability insurance in the State of Oklahoma .
- $25,000 bodily injury or death of one person
- $50,000 bodily injury of death of two or more persons
- $25,000 damage to the property of others
Please keep in mind that these are minimum requirements, the applicant may want to discuss insurance above and beyond the legal minimum with your insurance agent.