Oklahoma's distracted driving laws prohibit text messaging for all drivers and talking on a cell phone for only certain drivers. This article discusses the specifics of what the laws prohibit and the costs of a texting or cellphone ticket.
For all Oklahoma drivers, it's illegal to use a handheld electronic communication device to manually compose, read, or send a text message while operating a motor vehicle that's in motion. In other words, the law prohibits texting while driving.
Electronic communication devices. For purposes of the texting-while-driving statute, "electronic communication device" means any electronic device that permits the user to transmit text-based communications. The definition, however, does not include:
Exceptions to Oklahoma's texting ban. The texting ban doesn't apply to electronic device use for the purpose of communicating in an emergency with:
Generally, a texting ticket carries a maximum fine of $100. And no points are assessed to the convicted motorist's driving record.
Commercial and public transit drivers are prohibited from texting and using a cellphone while driving.
Exceptions to the commercial driver rules. The cell phone ban doesn't apply to commercial drivers who use their phones as necessary to communicate with law enforcement or emergency services personnel. And the texting ban isn't applicable to:
A violation of the commercial driver cellphone and texting ban is a misdemeanor. Convicted drivers are looking at a $500 fine.
Depending on the circumstances, a texting or cellphone violation could also lead to a reckless driving conviction. And if one of these violations results in the death of another person, vehicular homicide charges are a possibility.