Oregon Teen Driving Laws, License, & Insurance

Information on Oregon Teen Driving Rules, Insurance Requirements & Drivers License

The State of Oregon Provisional Instruction Permit  (Under 18)

To qualify for a provisional instruction permit you must:

  • be between the ages of 15 and 17
  • show proof of identification
  • provide proof of residency in the state of Oregon
  • have no prior suspensions, cancellations or revoked driving privileges
  • show proof of legal presence in the united states
  • provide proof of your Social Security number
  • pass a State of Oregon driver license written knowledge test
  • pass a vision screening
  • show proof of enrollment in school or proof of completion or exemption
  • submit an application signed by a parent or legal guardian unless you are an emancipated minor or you are married.

If all of the criteria are met, the teen driver may receive a provisional instruction permit. The provisional instruction permit holder may only drive when accompanied by licensed driver that is a minimum of 21 years of age and has held a driver license in good standing for a minimum of 3 years. The licensed adult must occupy the seat next to the teen driver at all times.

While the teen driver holds the provisional license they must accrue 50 to 100 hours of supervised driving to qualify for a provisional driver license. Provisional instruction permit holders may not drive while using a cell-phone or any other electronic device used to send and receive messages while driving. The State of Oregon provisional instruction permit is good for 2 years from the date of issue and it can be renewed for an additional 2 years.

The State of Oregon Provisional License  (Under 18)

To qualify for a State of Oregon Provisional License you must:

  • be between the ages of 16 and 17
  • have no prior suspensions, cancellations or revoked driving privileges
  • complete a minimum of 50 hours of supervised driving certified by a supervising adult
  • have held a provisional instruction permit from the state of oregon or any other state for a minimum of 6 months.
  • have completed an Oregon Department of Transportation approved traffic safety education class or completed 50 hours of additional supervised driving that is certified by the supervising adult.
  • submit a completed application that is signed by a parent of legal guardian unless you are an emancipated minor or married.
  • show proof of identification
  • provide proof of residency in the State of Oregon
  • pass a vision screening
  • show proof of legal presence in the united states
  • provide proof of your Social Security number
  • pass the safe driving practices exam
  • pass the driving test

Provisional License Restrictions Under 18

Restrictions for the first 6 months: Provisional license holders may not drive while using a cell-phone or any other electronic device used to send and receive messages while driving. Passengers under the age of 20 are limited to immediate family members only. Driving between the hours of midnight and 5:00 AM is prohibited except for purposes of employment, school sanctioned events were there is no transportation offered or when accompanied by an adult that is a minimum of 25 years of age that carries a valid driver license.

Restrictions for the second 6 months: Provisional license holders may not drive with more than 3 passengers who are under the age of 20 unless they are immediate family members. Driving between the hours of midnight and 5:00 AM is prohibited except for purposes of employment, school sanctioned events were there is no transportation offered or when accompanied by an adult that is a minimum of 25 years of age that carries a valid driver license.

Insurance Requirements in the State of Oregon

All vehicles registered in the State of Oregon must be covered by the minimum insurance requirements of the state. Proof of insurance must be shown when a vehicle is registered or when requested by a law enforcement official. The amounts listed below are the minimum coverage amounts allowed by law.

Liability Insurance

  • $25,000  bodily injury per person
  • $50,000  bodily injury per accident
  • $10,000  damage to the property of others

Personal Injury Protection

  • $15,000 per person per accident

Uninsured Motorist Coverage

  • $25,000  bodily injury per person
  • $50,000  bodily injury per accident

If you are caught driving without the mandatory minimum insurance coverage you may have your license suspended or be fined. Your vehicle may also be towed and stored at your own expense if you are found driving without insurance.

When to Hire an Attorney

In many situations, it is best to hire an attorney to fight legal cases like this for you. In cases of a non-moving traffic violation, consult with an attorney to determine if you potentially have a case against the authorities. The attorney will offer advice on whether or not your case is worth taking to court.

Talk to a Lawyer

Want to talk to an attorney? Start here.

How It Works

  1. Briefly tell us about your case
  2. Provide your contact information
  3. Connect with local attorneys
NOLODRUPAL-web3:DRU1.6.12.2.20161011.41205