Vermont Text Messaging and Cell Phone Laws
Talk to a Local Defense Attorney
Enter the zip code where the incident took place to connect with a lawyer serving that area.
Except for novice drivers, there is no prohibition on cell phone use while driving in Vermont. However, all Vermont drivers are prohibited from texting.
Cell Phone Use
There is no handheld cell phone prohibition for drivers except that novice drivers in Vermont - drivers under age 18 – are prohibited from using cell phones (handheld or hands-free) while driving.
All drivers are prohibited from texting while driving.
As with all Vermont drivers, bus drivers are prohibited from texting while driving.
Violation of the texting law is punishable by a fine of $100 for a first offense and $250 for a second and subsequent offense within a two year period . The texting laws are considered “primary” laws. A primary law means that an officer can pull you over for the offense without having to witness some other violation. That is, the officer sees you texting and issues a citation.
Read more about Vermont’s distracted driving laws.