Alaska’s Traffic Violation Point System

How Alaska’s demerit point system works and the consequences of building up too many points.

An Alaska traffic ticket will normally result in fines and fees. (Though a driver might have options for resolving a ticket that don’t involve these payments.) However, the Alaska Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) also records traffic violations to identify problematic and dangerous drivers. The DMV assesses a certain number of points to a driver’s record for traffic violations and too many points will result in penalties.

Points Values for Traffic Violations

Alaska assigns the following point values for each traffic violation listed below.

Violation

Points Assessed

Driving while suspended

10

Driving under the influence

10

Refusal to submit to chemical test

10

Reckless driving

10

Racing

10

Assault with vehicle

10

Fleeing police officer

10

Negligent manslaughter with vehicle

10

Leaving scene of crash

9

Illegal use of an electronic device

6

Negligent driving

6

Underage operating after consuming alcohol

6

No insurance

6

Failure to yield to emergency vehicle

6

Failure to stop for school bus

6

School zone or playground violation

6

Speeding in school zone or playground area

6

Speeding 3 to 9 miles per hour over limit

2

Speeding 10 to 19 miles per hour over limit

4

Speeding 20 or more miles per hour over limit

6

Careless driving

4

Tailgating

4

Failure to stop or yield

4

Unlisted traffic violation

2

Parking and weight violations will not result in point assessment.

Consequences of Accumulating Points

Six and nine points. A driver who accumulates six points in a 12-month period or nine points in an 18-month period will receive a warning letter notifying the driver of his or her point record and the consequences of future violations. The DMV can also require the driver to appear for an informal driver improvement interview with a motor vehicle hearing officer. This interview is non-discretionary for provisional license holders. At the interview, the hearing officer will look over the driver’s record and can make recommendations such as reexamination, a driver improvement course, or other requirements to improve driving ability. Failure to appear at the interview or to comply with the recommendations can result in license suspension.

A court judge can also order a driver improvement course for drivers with at least six points in a year or nine points in two years.

12 and 18 points. A driver who has accumulated at least 12 points in 12 months or 18 points in 24 months will receive a notice of suspension. The suspension length will depend on the number of point-related suspensions the driver has within the last 24 months. A driver with:

  • no prior suspensions will receive a 30-day suspension
  • one suspension in the last 24 months will receive a 90-day suspension, and
  • two suspensions in the last 24 months will receive a one-year revocation.

The suspension will be effective 30 days after the mailing of the notice, but the driver can request reconsideration or an administrative hearing to contest the suspension.

All drivers must provide proof of insurance to reinstate their license after serving a suspension. The DMV can also require proof of insurance for any driver with at least six points in the last 12 months or nine points in the last 24 months.

Point Removal

Expiration. All license points expire after two years from the date of the violation.

Defensive driving course. Voluntary completion of a defensive driving course will remove two points from the driver’s record. This reduction may be used once every 12 months.

Violation-free driving. For every 12 months that a driver doesn't have a traffic violation, two points will be removed. Finally, when a driver does receive points for a violation, the point total will be reduced one point for each 12-month period (up to five years) without violations preceding the traffic violation.

Talk to a Lawyer

Need a lawyer? Start here.

How it Works

  1. Briefly tell us about your case
  2. Provide your contact information
  3. Choose attorneys to contact you
NEED PROFESSIONAL HELP ?

Talk to a Traffic Ticket attorney.

How It Works

  1. Briefly tell us about your case
  2. Provide your contact information
  3. Choose attorneys to contact you