Georgia’s Traffic Violation Point System

How Georgia’s licensing demerit point system works, including how too many tickets can lead to license suspension.

Georgia issues fines and fees for traffic infractions but also keeps track of violations to identify dangerous and negligent drivers. Each traffic violation results in a certain number of points being assigned to the driver’s record. Acquiring too many points will result in license suspension.

Points Values for Specific Violations

Georgia assigns the following point values to moving violations.

Violation

Points assessed

Aggressive driving

6

Reckless driving

4

Unlawfully passing a school bus

6

Improper passing on hill or curve

4

Speeding 14 to 18 miles per hour over limit

2

Speeding 19 to 23 miles per hour over limit

3

Speeding 24 to 33 miles per hour over limit

4

Speeding 34 or more miles per hour over limit

6

Traffic control device violation

3

Open container violation

2

Failure to secure load resulting in an accident

2

Child restraint violation

1 (2 points for subsequent offense)

Unlawful cellphone use

1 (2 points for second offense, 3 for third)

Unlisted traffic violation

3

Some traffic tickets won’t add any points to a person’s driving record. For example, a violation of the state’s basic speeding law (driving too fast for the current conditions but not necessarily faster than a posted speed limit) is currently a zero-point offense. Read more about Georgia's Super Speeder violations.

Consequences of Acquiring Too Many Points

The Georgia Department of Driver Services (DDS) generally sends out a notice when a driver has been assigned license points. A driver who accumulates 15 points within 24 months will receive a notice of suspension. The period of suspension depends on the number of prior point-related suspensions in the last five years.

  • First offense. The driver’s license will be suspended for one year on a first offense. However, the driver is eligible for early reinstatement after completing a certified defensive driving course and paying a $200 reinstatement fee.
  • Second offense. A second offense will result in a three-year suspension. Again, the driver is eligible for early reinstatement after completing a certified defensive driving course and paying a $300 reinstatement fee.
  • Third offense. A third point-related suspension in five years will result in a two-year suspension. The driver is not eligible for early reinstatement or a hardship license.

Reducing Points

A driver’s point total is reduced to zero after completing a point-related suspension. A driver can also erase up to seven points by completing a defensive driving course and submitting the certificate of completion to the Georgia DDS. A driver can get this reduction only once every five years.

If faced with a traffic violation charge, a driver can avoid a conviction and the associated points by paying a fee and completing a defensive driving course. However, this options is available only once every five years.

Talk to a Lawyer

Need a lawyer? Start here.

How it Works

  1. Briefly tell us about your case
  2. Provide your contact information
  3. Choose attorneys to contact you
NEED PROFESSIONAL HELP ?

Talk to a Traffic Ticket attorney.

How It Works

  1. Briefly tell us about your case
  2. Provide your contact information
  3. Choose attorneys to contact you