The State of Georgia Graduated License System
In 2007 the State of Georgia passed Joshua's Law which changed the process by which a teen driver receives a driver license. In addition, Georgia's Teenage and Adult Driver Responsibility Act (TADRA) established a step-by-step graduated driver license system that
minimizes high risk situations for the teen driver and increases
supervision and involvement of a licensed adult driver.
Step One: The Instructional Permit
The driver must be a minimum of 15 years old to apply for a Class C instructional permit in the State of Georgia. The qualifications include:
- When applying for the permit the driver will need either an original birth certificate or certified copy of your birth certificate.
- The driver must have a Social Security Number to apply for an instructional permit and pass an eye and knowledge test.
- The knowledge test will cover road signs and general rules of the road.
- The information in this test is covered in the Georgia driver's manual.
- When applying for an instructional permit, the teen driver must have their application signed by a parent or legal guardian.
- The applicant must also have a Georgia DDS Certificate of Attendance from their school.
teen applicant under the age of 18 must provide this certificate of
attendance or bring proof of graduation such as a High School Diploma
- If the teen applicant (under 18) for the
instructional permit has left school without graduation, has conduct
infractions, or has a total of 10 unexcused absences from school they
will not be allowed to apply for the instructional permit.
The instructional permit is valid for 2 years from the date it was issued. Teen
drivers with an instructional permit must be accompanied by an adult 21
years of age or older with a Class C driver license.
Step Two: The Intermediate License
drivers 16 years of age can apply for the Class D intermediate license
if they have held the instructional permit for one year and passed a
- Applicants for the Class D intermediate license must complete a 30
hour approved driver education program and a 6 hour state approved
driving course prior to receiving the license.
- In addition to these requirements, teen drivers must also have a minimum of 40 hours of driving under supervision.
- Six of the 40 hours must be nighttime driving.
- If the Class D intermediate License applicant is 17 years of age the
driver's education portion of these requirements are not mandatory.
Class D Intermediate License Restrictions
- Teen drivers issued a State of Georgia Class D intermediate license cannot drive between the hours of 12:00 am and 6 am.
- During the first 6 months the intermediate license holder cannot carry any passengers outside of their immediate family.
- After 6 months has passed the license holder can drive with one non-family passenger under the age of 21.
- After 1 year, the intermediate license holder may drive with up to 3 non-family passengers under the age of 21.
Step Three: Full Class C Driver License
the teen driver (18 or older) is holding a Class D license and has been
without any major traffic convictions for the previous year they will
be granted a Full Class C Driver License.
Minimum Insurance Requirements in the State of Georgia
The State of Georgia requires motor vehicle owners to maintain continuous Georgia liability insurance on their vehicles.
of insurance is required to receive a Georgia license plate tag or to
renew, transfer or replace an existing Georgia license plate tag.
- It is against the law to drive without Georgia liability insurance.
Department of Revenue will suspend or revoke your vehicle registration
if continuous Georgia liability insurance is not maintained.
may be subject to vehicle impoundment and a fine if you are in an
accident and do not have current Georgia liability insurance.
Other Georgia Information