If you get caught running a stop sign or red light in Hawaii, you’ll typically be looking at a fine. This article gives an overview of what the law prohibits and some specific consequences of a stop sign or red light ticket.
(Also, read about the ways of dealing with a traffic ticket.)
At a red light (solid or flashing) or stop sign, motorists must make a complete stop prior to reaching a clearly marked stop line or entering the crosswalk on the near side of the intersection. And if there is no stop line or crosswalk, the driver needs to stop before entering the intersection itself.
Hawaii law allows motorists to make a right turn after stopping at a red light unless there’s a sign indicating the turn is prohibited. However, drivers must use caution and follow right-of-way rules when making a right on red.
In Hawaii, a motorist can do a left turn after stopping at a red light only from a one-way street onto another one-way street. Of course, motorists need to follow the normal right-of-way rules and proceed with caution when making the turn.
In some states, it’s illegal to enter an intersection on a yellow light. However, in Hawaii, a steady yellow light is just a warning that the light is about to turn red. In other words, you’re allowed to enter an intersection while the light is still yellow, just not after it turns red.
Generally, a red light or stop sign violation carries up to $200 in fines for a first violation, up to $300 in fines for a second violation within a year, and a maximum $500 in fines for a third or subsequent violation within a year. A judge also has the option of requiring anyone convicted of a traffic violation to complete a driver retraining course.
Under certain circumstances, a red light or stop sign violation might also lead to a reckless driving conviction. And if one of these offense results in the death of another person, vehicular homicide charges are a possibility.