Maine's Vehicular Homicide and Manslaughter Laws and Penalties

A motorist in Maine who drives with negligence or recklessness and kills another person may face manslaughter or murder charges.

Unlike many other states, Maine doesn't have a "vehicular homicide" statute that applies exclusively to driving-related unlawful killings. However, a Maine motorist who causes the death of another person while behind the wheel can be prosecuted under the state's more general homicide laws. Depending on the circumstances, a fatal accident could result in manslaughter or murder charges against the at-fault driver.

How Does Maine Define Vehicular Homicide and Vehicular Manslaughter?

All homicides involve the unlawful killing of another person. The difference between the two types comes down to the mental state of the defendant. Here's how manslaughter and murder are defined in Maine.

Maine's Vehicular Manslaughter Law

A motorist can be convicted of manslaughter for causing the death of another person while driving in a "criminally negligent" or "reckless" manner.

A person acts with criminal negligence by unknowingly doing or failing to do something that creates a substantial and unjustifiable risk to others. The risk must be of such nature and degree that the failure to perceive it constitutes a gross deviation from the standard of care that a reasonable person would use in like circumstances.

Recklessness—which is a more culpable mental state—is the same as criminal negligence except the person knowingly does or fails to do something that creates the risk; in other words, the person is aware of but disregards the risk.

Maine's Vehicular Homicide (Murder) Law

A motorist commits murder by causing the death of another person while driving in a manner that shows a "depraved indifference to the value of human life."

The difference between manslaughter and murder is a matter of degree. And the dividing line isn't always clear. However, in general, murder requires proof of a more culpable mental state than recklessness (the mental state for manslaughter). So theoretically, the more egregious the motorist's driving, the more likely a jury is to convict of murder.

Maine's Vehicular Manslaughter and Homicide Penalties

The consequences of a driving-related homicide conviction depend on the circumstances. However, the possible penalties for the types of offenses are described below.

Penalties for Vehicular Manslaughter in Maine

Criminally negligent homicide is a class C crime. A conviction generally carries up to five years in prison and a maximum of $5,000 in fines.

Penalties for Vehicular Homicide (Murder) in Maine

Motorists convicted of murder face 25 years to life in prison.

Penalties for OUI/DUI-Related Vehicular Homicide in Maine

A motorist who kills another person while operating a vehicle under the influence of drugs or alcohol (OUI)—even if not convicted of manslaughter or murder—is guilty of a class B crime and looking at six months to ten years in prison and up to $40,000 in fines.

License Revocation for Vehicular Manslaughter and Homicide in Maine

Motorists convicted of manslaughter or murder face license revocation of at least five years. And drivers convicted of an OUI involving a death will have their license permanently revoked.

Talk to a Maine Criminal Defense Attorney

Murder and manslaughter are serious criminal charges that can result in a long prison sentence. If you've been arrested for a driving-related killing—or any other crime—get in contact with a criminal defense attorney right away. The facts of every case are different. An experienced defense attorney can explain how the law applies to the facts of your case and help you decide on the best plan of action.

Talk to a Defense attorney
We've helped 95 clients find attorneys today.
There was a problem with the submission. Please refresh the page and try again
Full Name is required
Email is required
Please enter a valid Email
Phone Number is required
Please enter a valid Phone Number
Zip Code is required
Please add a valid Zip Code
Please enter a valid Case Description
Description is required

How It Works

  1. Briefly tell us about your case
  2. Provide your contact information
  3. Choose attorneys to contact you