Maryland’s Traffic Violation Point System

How points are accumulated and penalized under Maryland’s demerit point system.

Maryland traffic tickets usually result in fines and fees. But traffic ticket convictions are also reported to the Maryland Motor Vehicle Administration (MVA). The MVA assigns a certain number of points depending on the severity of the violation. Drivers who accumulate enough points will first receive a warning and then might face license suspension or other penalties.

Points Values for Traffic Violations

Here are some of the most common traffic violations and associated points. An out-of-state conviction is assessed points only for vehicular manslaughter, DUI, hit-and-run, or a felony.

Violation

Points Assessed

Unlisted moving violation

1 (3 points if contributes to accident)

Tailgating

2

Speeding 10 or more miles per hour over limit (but less than 30 miles per hour over limit)

2

Failure to stop for school bus

3

Littering

2

Failure to yield to pedestrian

2

Traffic control signal violation

2

Speeding 30 or more miles per hour over limit

5

Driving without license

5

Failure to report accident

5

Learner permit holder driving without supervision

5

Driving while suspended

5

Racing

5

Nitrous oxide system

5

Speeding 20 or more miles per hour over limit of 65 miles per hour

5

Aggressive driving

5

Reckless driving

6

Driving while impaired

8

Failure to stop at accident (injury or damage)

8

Commercial driver’s license (CDL) violation

8

Failure to stop at accident (death)

12

Driving while revoked

12

Vehicular homicide

12

Driving under the influence

12

Any felony involving use of a vehicle

12

Fleeing or eluding officer

12

Unlawful taking or use of vehicle

12

Texting and driving that results in death or serious bodily injury

12

Multiple violations within a single incident will result in point assessment for only the most serious violation.

Consequences of Accumulating Points

Warning. A driver who acquires three points in a two-year period will receive a warning letter. This letter informs the driver of the current point total and consequences of future violations.

Traffic school. At five points within two years, the MVA will order the driver to attend and complete a driver improvement program. The program is lecture-based and is intended to provide safety information and rehabilitation.

Suspension. A driver with at least eight points within two years will receive a notice of suspension. The suspension period depends on the driver’s history.

  • A driver with no prior point suspensions will be suspended for two to 30 days.
  • A driver with prior point suspensions will be suspended for 15 to 90 days.

Revocation. A driver with at least 12 points in two years will receive a notice of license revocation. The revocation is permanent, but a driver can reapply for a driver’s license after six months. The MVA can require reexamination. Subsequent revocations will require longer periods of revocation before reapplication.

  • Second revocation: minimum one year before reapplying.
  • Third revocation: minimum 18 months before reapplying.
  • Fourth or subsequent revocation: minimum two years before reapplying.

Avoiding Suspension

Point removal. Points expire two years from the date of the violation but are not otherwise removed.

Hearing. Within ten days of receiving a notice of suspension or revocation, the driver can request an administrative hearing. The hearing officer can review the record and make any necessary corrections but is also able to dismiss or modify the penalty if detrimental to the driver’s employment.

Talk to a Lawyer

Need a lawyer? Start here.

How it Works

  1. Briefly tell us about your case
  2. Provide your contact information
  3. Choose attorneys to contact you
NEED PROFESSIONAL HELP ?

Talk to a Traffic Ticket attorney.

How It Works

  1. Briefly tell us about your case
  2. Provide your contact information
  3. Choose attorneys to contact you