The State of Massachusetts Junior Operators Law sets up a progressive series of education, restrictions and supervision for teen drivers to limit high risk driving situations. This system improves the chances of a successful outcome for the young driver and gives parents and guardians a chance to participate in the learning experience by becoming involved in the education process and supervision of the Junior Operator.
The applicant must be a minimum of 16 years of age to apply for a State of Massachusetts learner's permit. If the permit applicant is under the age of 18, a parent or guardian will need to sign the learner permit application. The teen driver will be required to pass a vision screening test and take a written test that covers the State of Massachusetts motor vehicle laws and safe driving practices. When applying for a learner permit the applicant must show valid identification. For applicants under 18 this includes:
For applicants over 18 this includes:
Original documents are required, photocopies are not accepted.
The learner permit is valid for 2 years and allows new drivers to practice their driving skills and prepare for the behind-the-wheel test. Learner permit holders must carry their permit when they are driving and be accompanied by a licensed driver that is a minimum of 21 years of age with a minimum of 1 year of driving experience. Teen drivers under the age of 18 that hold a learner permit are not allowed to drive between the hours of 12:00 AM and 5:00 AM unless they are accompanied by a licensed parent or guardian.
The applicant must be a minimum of 16½ and 18 will receive a Junior Operator License if they meet the requirements. The applicant must pass a behind-the-wheel road test and complete a State of Massachusetts approved driver education program. The driver education and training consists of the following:
In addition to these requirements the teen driver must complete a minimum of 40 hours supervised on the road driving or 30 hours on the road supervised driving if they have completed a driver skills development program.
Teen drivers that receive their Junior Operator license may not drive with passengers under the age of 18 that are not immediate family members for the first 6 months that they hold the Junior Operator License unless they are accompanied by licensed driver that is a minimum of 21 years of age with a minimum of 1 year of driving experience. The adult license holder must occupy the front passenger seat next to the Junior Operator. he holder of a Junior Operator License may not drive between the hours of 12:30 AM to 5:00 AM unless they are accompanied by a parent or legal guardian.
All vehicle owners are required by Massachusetts law to purchase Compulsory Insurance.
These are minimum requirements, depending on your situation you may want to purchase additional coverage. Consult with a professional agent to determine your automobile insurance needs above and beyond Massachusetts State Law.