Missouri’s Traffic Violation Point System

How Missouri’s demerit point system works and the consequences of building up too many points.

In addition to fines and fees, most Missouri traffic violations result in the Missouri Department of Transportation (DOT) assessing points to the driver’s record. The DOT receives notice of all traffic violations and assesses a certain number of points contingent on the severity of the offense. Too many points in a certain period of time can result in license suspension or revocation.

Points Values for Traffic Violations

Missouri assigns the following point values for each traffic violation listed below. Both in-state and out-of-state violations will be recorded.

Violation

Points Assessed

Unlisted violation

2

Municipal stop sign violation

1

Speeding

3

Municipal speeding violation

2

Leaving the scene of an accident

12 (6 if municipal violation)

Careless driving

6 (4 if municipal violation)

Driving without a license

2 (4 for second offense, 6 for third offense)

Driving while suspended or revoked

12

License fraud

12

DUI (driving under the influence)

8 (12 for second offense)

Felony involving motor vehicle

12

Permitting unlicensed driver to operate

4

No insurance

4

Endangerment of highway worker

4

Aggravated endangerment of highway worker

12

Endangerment of emergency worker

4

Aggravated endangerment of emergency worker

12

Points are generally only assessed for the most severe offense resulting from one traffic stop. But the DOT will add two points to any violation that resulted in injury or property damage.

Consequences of Accumulating Points

Warning letter. Prior to imposing any penalties, the DOT will send drivers who accumulate four points a warning letter. This letter simply outlines the driver’s current point total and the penalties that can result under the demerit point system.

Suspension. A driver who has accumulated at least eight points in 18 months will be suspended. The suspension length depends on the number of prior point-related suspensions. A driver with:

  • no prior suspensions will receive a 30-day suspension
  • one prior suspension will receive a 60-day suspension, and
  • two prior suspensions will receive a 90-day suspension.

Suspended drivers must provide proof of financial responsibility prior to license reinstatement.

Revocation. A driver will face license revocation if he or she has 12 points in a 12-month period, 18 points in a 24-month period, or 24 points in a 36-month period. However, a revoked driver can apply for a driver’s license after one year of revocation. The driver must provide proof of financial responsibility and must retake the driving examination.

Hardship license. Suspended or revoked drivers can petition to the local court for limited driving privileges. If granted, these privileges will include operation to, for, and from work and school, but only during limited hours and by certain routes. The driver must provide proof of insurance and the assessed points can’t be related to a felony incident. The court can require an ignition interlock device for limited driving privileges if the driver’s offense involved alcohol.

Point Reduction

Expiration. Drivers with no convictions within a 12-month period will receive a one-third reduction to their current point total. After 24 months without a violation, the driver’s point total will be reduced by another 50 percent. After three years without any violations, the driver’s point total will be erased. Any time spent with limited driving privileges doesn’t count towards point reduction.

Additionally, a driver’s point total is reduced to four points after completing a suspension or revocation period.

Defensive driving course. Within 60 days of a traffic ticket conviction, the driver can complete a driver improvement program to avoid the assessment of points. This option is available only once every 36 months.

Talk to a Lawyer

Need a lawyer? Start here.

How it Works

  1. Briefly tell us about your case
  2. Provide your contact information
  3. Choose attorneys to contact you
NEED PROFESSIONAL HELP ?

Talk to a Traffic Ticket attorney.

How It Works

  1. Briefly tell us about your case
  2. Provide your contact information
  3. Choose attorneys to contact you