Missouri uses a graduated license program to advance young drivers from a temporary instruction permit to an intermediate license and, finally, to an unrestricted driver's license.
Beginning at 15 years old, a person can apply for a temporary instruction permit by passing a vision test and a written exam covering state traffic laws. The application must include proof of residency or citizenship and valid identification. A parent or guardian must sign the application and certify that he or she will supervise the driver and log at least 40 hours of supervised drive time.
This permit is valid for 12 months and allows the licensee to drive as long as an "eligible adult" is in the front seat at all times. An eligible adult is a parent, guardian, or grandparent. A parent can give written consent for another person to supervise if the person is at least 25 years old and has been licensed for at least three years. Permit holders over 16 years old can be supervised by any licensed driver who's at least 21 years old.
The permit holder will also have a "PERMIT DRIVER" sticker attached to the driver's license and must attach a PERMIT DRIVER sticker to the rear window of any vehicle driven.
All passengers in the vehicle must have seat belts.
With parental approval, 16-year-olds who have held a temporary instruction permit for six months can take a driving test to obtain an intermediate license. Along with the intermediate license application, the teen must provide a driving log showing 40 hours of supervised driving (including ten nighttime hours) that is signed by a parent, guardian, grandparent, or certified driver's education instructor. The applicant must also be free of any alcohol-related law enforcement contact in the last 12 months and have no traffic tickets for the last six months. A written test of traffic laws may be required if the instruction permit was held for more than one year.
The driver can't drive between 1 a.m. and 5 a.m. unless supervised by an eligible adult. Exemptions also exist for travel to and from work or school and in emergency situations.
For the first six months of holding an intermediate license, the driver can transport only one non-family member passenger under 19 years old. After the first six months, the driver is limited to transporting up to three non-family member passengers under 19 years old. All passengers and drivers must wear seatbelts. The passenger restriction does not apply to agricultural transportation.
Violation of the license restrictions is considered an infraction but will not result in driving record points. However, minor drivers who accumulate six points in a 12-month period for other violations will be required to take a driver improvement program.
Thirty days prior to turning 18 years old, an intermediate license holder can apply for an unrestricted driver's license. The applicant must have no driving record points in the last 12 months and must be free of any alcohol-related law enforcement contact for the last 12 months.
Any vehicle operated or registered in the state of Missouri the vehicle must be properly insured. In Missouri, the mandatory insurance requirements are:
Uninsured driving is a class D misdemeanor and can result in a fine of up to $500. A second or subsequent offense will result in up to 15 days in jail and a fine maximum fine of $500. Driving without insurance will also result in four points be assessed to the driver's record or court supervision.
All convictions will be forwarded to the Missouri Department of Revenue for driver's license suspension.
All fees must be paid and proof of insurance must be shown prior to license reinstatement.