Red Light and Stop Sign Tickets in Montana

Read about Montana’s red light and stop sign laws and the consequences of a violation.

If you get caught running a stop sign or red light in Montana, you’ll typically be looking at a fine and points on your driving record. This article gives an overview of what the law prohibits and some of the specific consequences of a stop sign or red light violation.

(Also, read about the options for dealing with a traffic citation.)

Making the Stop

At a red light (solid or flashing) or a stop sign, motorists must come to a complete stop prior to the nearest of reaching a limit line, entering the crosswalk at the near side of the intersection, or entering the intersection itself.

Right-On-Red Rule

Montana law allows motorists to make a right turn after stopping at a red light unless there’s a sign indicating the turn is prohibited. However, drivers must use caution and follow right-of-way rules when making a right on red.

Left-on-Red Rule

In Montana, a motorist can do a left turn after stopping at a red light only from a one-way street onto another one-way street. Of course, motorists need to follow the normal right-of-way rules and proceed with caution when making the turn.

Meaning of a Yellow Light

In some states, it’s illegal to enter an intersection on a yellow light. However, in Montana, a steady yellow light is just a warning that the light is about to turn red. In other words, you’re allowed to enter an intersection while the light is still yellow. It’s only if you enter the intersection after the light has turned red that you can be cited for running the light.

Red Light Cameras

Montana law prohibits the use of automated cameras to detect red light violators.

Fines and Points for Violations

Generally, stop sign and red light violations are misdemeanors in Montana. The fines for a conviction are:

  • $10 to $100 for a first violation
  • $25 to $200 for a second violation within a year, and
  • $50 to $500 for a third or subsequent violation within a year.

However, court costs and fees might increase the amount the convicted motorist actually pays.

Additionally, a stop sign or light conviction will generally add two points to a motorist’s driving record. Accumulating too many points can lead to license suspension.

Depending on the circumstances, a red light or stop sign violation could also lead to a reckless driving conviction. And if one these offenses result in the death of another person, vehicular homicide charges are also a possibility.

NEED PROFESSIONAL HELP ?

Talk to a Traffic Ticket attorney.

How It Works

  1. Briefly tell us about your case
  2. Provide your contact information
  3. Choose attorneys to contact you