New Hampshire is one of few states that does not issue an instruction permit before issuing a driver’s license. However, there are still requirements and restrictions specific to teen driver’s licenses.
Teens who are at least 15 and a half years old are permitted to practice driving as long as he or she is supervised by a parent, guardian, certified driving instructor, or other licensed adult at who’s least 25 years old. The supervising adult will be liable for any violations or neglect of the teen driver. No test, permit, or certification is required for the teen to drive. But the teen must carry some form of proof of age.
Persons who are 16 to 21 years old can apply for a driver’s license referred to as a “youth operator’s license.” Applicants must provide proof of residency and identity. Applicants must also pass a vision exam and written test covering state traffic laws. The license will be valid until the holder’s 21st birthday.
Under 18 applicants. Applicants who are younger than 18 years old must also have parental consent and a driver’s education completion certification to obtain an operator’s license. Driver’s education is often provided by public schools and must include 30 hours of class time, ten hours of behind-the-wheel training, and six hours of driving observation. To be eligible for an operator’s license, minor drivers must also provide a driving log indicating 40 hours of supervised driving time, including ten hours of nighttime driving.
Teens who have no access to driver’s education and no transportation other than driving themselves can be excused from the driver’s education requirement.
Under 18 restrictions. Minor drivers are prohibited from driving between 1 a.m. and 4 a.m. For the first six months of licensure, the teen can transport only one non-family member passenger who’s under 25 years old. This requirement is waived if the driver is supervised (in the front seat) by a licensed adult who’s at least 25 years old. At no time can a teen driver transport more passengers than there are available seatbelts.
Violation of these restrictions will result in:
Under 20 restrictions. Commission of any traffic offense (excluding seatbelt violations) by a person who’s under 20 years old will result in a:
New Hampshire is one of few states that does not require liability insurance. However, carrying liability insurance can help prevent certain penalties.
Violations. The Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) will suspend the license and registration of any person who causes a vehicle accident until all judgments are satisfied or until proof of financial security is shown. The DMV can also suspend a driver’s license or vehicle registration for any of the following violations:
The suspension and revocation will continue until proof of financial security is shown. Persons already carrying satisfactory proof of financial security may be exempt from these penalties.
Proof of financial security. New Hampshire defines financial security to include at least $25,000 bodily injury per person, $50,000 bodily injury per accident, and $25,000 property damage per accident.