North Dakota’s Traffic Violation Point System

The license-related consequences resulting from excessive traffic violation demerit points.

North Dakota records all traffic violations to identify dangerous drivers. The Department of Transportation (DOT) assigns a point value to each of these violations based on the severity of the offense. Drivers who accumulate a certain number of points face license suspension or cancelation.

Points Values for Traffic Violations

North Dakota assigns the following point values for each traffic violation listed below.

Violation

Points Assessed

License plate violation

1

Permitting unauthorized person to drive

2

Impeding traffic on highway

2

Unlawful parking

1

Equipment violation

2

Careless driving

6

Violating license restriction

4 (3 points for eyeglasses restriction)

Racing

10

Exhibition driving

3

Failure to yield right-of-way

2

Traffic control device violation

2

Wrong side of road

2

Failure to dim lights

1

Failure to stop at railroad crossing

3

Passing violation

2

Unlawful passing of school bus

6

Operating without a license

4

Speeding 6 to 10 miles per hour over limit

0

Speeding 11 to 15 miles per hour over limit

1

Speeding 16 to 20 miles per hour over limit

3

Speeding 21 to 25 miles per hour over limit

5

Speeding 26 to 35 miles per hour over limit

9

Speeding 36 to 45 miles per hour over limit

12

Speeding 46 or more miles per hour over limit

15

Open alcohol container violation

2

Child restraint violation

1

Driving without insurance

6 (12 if prior violation in last year)

Accident without insurance

14

Reckless driving

8

Aggravated reckless driving

12

Leaving the scene of property damage accident

14

Leaving the scene of injury accident

18

Flee and elude police officer

24

Instruction permit restriction violation

2

On highways where the speed limit is 65 miles per hour, the following point schedule applies.

Violation

Points Assessed

Speeding 1 to 5 miles per hour over limit

0

Speeding 6 to 10 miles per hour over limit

1

Speeding 11 to 15 miles per hour over limit

3

Speeding 16 to 20 miles per hour over limit

5

Speeding 21 to 25 miles per hour over limit

7

Speeding 26 to 30 miles per hour over limit

10

Speeding 31 to 35 miles per hour over limit

12

Speeding 36 or more miles per hour over limit

15

Consequences of Accumulating Points

Suspension. The DOT is authorized to suspend the license of any driver who accumulates at least 12 points. Generally, the driver’s license will be suspended for seven days for each point above 11. This suspension runs back-to-back with any other pending suspensions.

Hardship license. A suspended driver can apply for a temporary license after serving at least seven days of the suspension period. If granted, the DOT can require the holder to complete a driver training course and can restrict the license to use only for work, school, or other specific activities.

Minor driver. A minor driver will face license penalties after accumulating only six points. At six points, a minor’s license will be cancelled, as if the driver was never licensed. The driver will have to reapply and retest for the appropriate permit.

Point Removal

Expiration. Points do not expire but one point is removed for every three months without a traffic ticket. The point total is also reduced to 11 after the driver completes a point-related suspension.

Driver training course. Voluntary completion of a driver training course will remove three points from the driver’s record. This reduction can be used only once every 12 months and does not affect pending suspensions.

Point prevention. A driver convicted of a traffic violation can elect to complete a driver training course to prevent the assessment of points. However, this only works for offenses that carry five points or less.

Talk to a Lawyer

Need a lawyer? Start here.

How it Works

  1. Briefly tell us about your case
  2. Provide your contact information
  3. Choose attorneys to contact you
NEED PROFESSIONAL HELP ?

Talk to a Traffic Ticket attorney.

How It Works

  1. Briefly tell us about your case
  2. Provide your contact information
  3. Choose attorneys to contact you