Arkansas’s Traffic Violation Point System

How the demerit point system works and the consequences of acquiring too many points.

An Arkansas traffic violation will normally result in fines but can also lead to demerit points being assessed to the driver’s record. Arkansas tracks these points and will suspend the driver’s license if he or she accumulates too many points within a certain time period.

Point Values for Traffic Violations

Arkansas traffic violations are given the following demerit-point values.

Violation

Points Assessed

DUI (driving under the influence)

14

Racing

8

Fleeing or eluding an officer

8

Failure to stop for a school bus

8

Reckless driving

8

Leaving the scene of accident

8

Speeding 10 or less miles per hour over the limit

3

Speeding 11 to 20 miles per hour over the limit

4

Speeding 21 to 30 miles per hour over the limit

5

Speeding 31 or more miles per hour over the limit

8

Unlisted moving violation

3

At-fault accident

3

Non-moving violation

0

Consequences of Acquiring too Many Points

In Arkansas, demerit points stay on a driver’s record for 36 months. Drivers who have less than ten points won’t face any consequences. But drivers with ten to 13 points will likely get a letter warning of the possible penalties of future violations.

Drivers with 14 or more points in a 36-month period will receive a notice of suspension from the Office of Drivers Services. This notice will give the driver notice of an administrative hearing date. If the driver does not appear for the hearing, or the hearing officer finds the driver’s record sufficient to warrant suspension, the officer can suspend the driver’s license for:

  • up to three months for 14 to 17 points
  • up to six months for 18 to 23 points, and
  • up to one year for 24 or more points.

However, the driver may be eligible for a restricted license during the suspension period. Driving on a suspended license (without first obtaining a restricted license) can result in additional suspension penalties, jail time, and fines.

Talk to a Lawyer

Need a lawyer? Start here.

How it Works

  1. Briefly tell us about your case
  2. Provide your contact information
  3. Choose attorneys to contact you
NEED PROFESSIONAL HELP ?

Talk to a Traffic Ticket attorney.

How It Works

  1. Briefly tell us about your case
  2. Provide your contact information
  3. Choose attorneys to contact you