Connecticut’s Commercial Driver’s License Laws

The requirements to obtain a Connecticut CDL and reasons for disqualification.

To operate a commercial motor vehicle (CMV), the driver must have the appropriate commercial driver’s license (CDL). Different CMVs require different classes of CDLs and endorsements specific to the vehicle and cargo. A CDL can also be revoked for certain criminal convictions or CMV violations. This article outlines the requirements for obtaining the different types of commercial licenses and circumstances that can lead to commercial license disqualification.

When a CDL Is Required

CMVs usually include vehicles weighing 26,001 or more pounds. A CMV can also include busses designed for 16 or more passengers, vehicles carrying hazardous materials, and vehicles designed to carry ten or more children (to school or daycare).

CDL License Classes

There are three classes of CDLs based on the weight of the truck and/or trailer(s).

  • Class A. Any trailer-tractor combination weighing 26,001 or more pounds with the trailer weighing at least 10,000 pounds.
  • Class B. Any trailer-tractor combination (or single tractor) weighing 26,001 or more pounds but with the trailer being less than 10,000 pounds.
  • Class C. Any CMV that weighs less than 26,000 pounds with a trailer that’s less than 10,000 pounds (includes hazmat and public passenger transports).

The driver’s license must be sufficient to operate all applicable weights. For example, a class A CDL permits the operation of all weights of CMVs.

Endorsements

Endorsements are designated on the CDL and authorize the holder to operate special CMVs (like school buses) or carry special cargo (like hazardous materials).

CDL Testing

Prior to obtaining a CDL, a driver must be at least 18 years old and acquire a commercial driver’s instruction permit (CDIP). The applicant must complete the application form which includes proof of residency and identification, a ten-year driving record check, and a written examination covering CDL traffic rules. The CDIP allows the holder to drive a CMV while supervised by an authorized CDL holder. After 14 days, the CDIP holder can take a driving skills test to obtain a CDL.

Each CDL class and endorsement requires a different test. Also, the hazmat endorsement requires TSA-clearance and the public passenger endorsement has specific background check requirements.

An applicant with prior military CMV experience may be exempt from the skills test, but all CDL applicants must hold and maintain a medical examiner’s certificate, indicating the driver is physically healthy enough to operate a CMV. The certificate must be updated every 24 months or the driver can be disqualified.

CDL Revocation and Disqualification

Special rules apply to CMV operators. Violation of these rules can lead to license disqualification.

Serious Traffic Offenses

A licensee will be disqualified for repeated convictions of so-called “serious traffic offenses.” Serious traffic offenses include speeding 15 miles per hour or more over the limit, reckless driving, erratic lane changes, texting while driving in a CMV, and operating a CMV without a license. Two offenses in three years will result in a 60-day revocation and having three or more violations in three years carries a 120-day revocation.

Out-of-Service Order

Certain traffic offenses or equipment violations can result in an out-of-service order (OSO). An OSO prohibits the operation of the CMV or by the CDL holder. Driving in violation of the OSO will result in license disqualification of 180 days to one year for a first offense, two to five years for a second offense, and three to five years for a third offense. Only violations within the last ten years are counted. Additionally, a driver who was operating a hazmat vehicle or vehicle designed for 16 or more passengers during the OSO violation will be disqualified for 180 days to two years for a first offense and three to five years for a second or subsequent offense.

Railroad Crossings

CMV operators must take special precautions when approaching or crossing railroad tracks. A CMV railroad track violation will result in a 60-day, 120-day, and one-year license revocation for a first, second, and third violation.

Major Traffic Offenses

CMV operation involving felonies or intoxicants can also result in license disqualification.

  • One-year disqualification. Operating under the influence (OUI), failing to stop for an accident, racing, driving a CMV without a CDL, and using a motor vehicle in the commission of a felony will result in a one-year disqualification (three years if the violation involved a hazmat CMV).
  • Two-year disqualification. A fatality caused by negligent CMV operation will result in a two-year disqualification.
  • Ten-year to lifetime disqualification. A second conviction of OUI, failing to stop for an accident, racing, driving a CMV without a CDL, or using a motor vehicle in the commission of a felony, will result in lifetime disqualification. But reinstatement is possible after ten years.
  • Lifetime disqualification. Using a motor vehicle to transport or distribute controlled substances will result in unalterable lifetime CDL disqualification.
  • Indeterminate disqualification. A CDL holder can also be deemed an imminent hazard by the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration, which disqualifies the driver until the designation is lifted.

Honest Reporting

CDL holders are expected to be honest about any criminal history or recent convictions. Within 30 days of conviction, a CDL holder must report all traffic violations to the state and to his or her employer. A driver that lies on a CDL application will be suspended for 60 days and may have to retake the tests.

Talk to a Lawyer

Need a lawyer? Start here.

How it Works

  1. Briefly tell us about your case
  2. Provide your contact information
  3. Choose attorneys to contact you
NEED PROFESSIONAL HELP ?

Talk to a Traffic Ticket attorney.

How It Works

  1. Briefly tell us about your case
  2. Provide your contact information
  3. Choose attorneys to contact you