To qualify for disability parking plates or placards (sometimes incorrectly referred to as “handicapped stickers” or “handicapped hangtags”) in Idaho an applicant must qualify as a disabled person which includes any person who is unable to walk 200 feet or more unassisted by another person or without the aid of a walker, crutches, braces, prosthetic device or a wheelchair; or without great difficulty or discomfort due to any of the following impairment types: neurologic, orthopedic, respiratory, cardiac, arthritic, blindness, or the loss of function or absence of a limb or limbs. In summary, the determination is one made by the applicant and the applicant’s physician.
You can seek either plates or a placard by completing and sending in Idaho’s application for disability parking identification. A doctor's certification is required.
Disabled drivers in Idaho are entitled to either permanent license plates or placards, or a temporary placard.
Any person that parks in the parking space designated for persons with disabilities in Idaho when not entitled to it is liable for an infraction and a fine of fifty dollars ($50).