Running Red Lights and Stop Signs in Connecticut

Read about Connecticut’s red light and stop sign laws and the consequences of a violation.

If you get caught running a stop sign or red light in Connecticut, you’ll typically be looking at a fine and points on your driving record. This article gives an overview of what the law prohibits and some specific consequences of a stop sign or red light violation.

(Also, read about the options for dealing with a traffic citation.)

Making the Stop

At a red light (solid or flashing) or a stop sign, motorists must come to a complete stop prior to the nearest of reaching a marked limit line, entering the crosswalk at the near side of the intersection, or entering the intersection itself.

Right-On-Red Rule

Connecticut law allows motorists to make a right turn after stopping at a red light unless there’s a sign indicating the turn is prohibited. However, drivers must use caution and follow the normal right-of-way rules when making a right on red.

Left-on-Red Rule

Unlike some other states, Connecticut doesn’t allow drivers to make a left turn at a red light.

Meaning of a Yellow Light

In Connecticut, a yellow light is a warning that the signal is about to turn red. Motorists must stop at a yellow light unless they are so close to the intersection that a stop can’t be safely made.

Red Light Cameras

Lots of states use automated cameras at intersections to catch drivers running red lights. However, Connecticut currently does not use red light cameras.

Fines and Points for Violations

Stop sign and red light violations are infractions in Connecticut. For a stop sign violation, a motorist will typically pay $129, including fines and fees. And the fines and fees for a stop light violation are $146.

A stop sign or light conviction will also add two demerit points to a motorist’s driving record. Accumulating too many points can lead to license suspension.

Depending on the circumstances, a red light or stop sign violation could also lead to a reckless driving conviction. And if one of these offenses results in the death of another person, vehicular homicide charges are another possibility.

Talk to a Lawyer

Need a lawyer? Start here.

How it Works

  1. Briefly tell us about your case
  2. Provide your contact information
  3. Choose attorneys to contact you
NEED PROFESSIONAL HELP ?

Talk to a Traffic Ticket attorney.

How It Works

  1. Briefly tell us about your case
  2. Provide your contact information
  3. Choose attorneys to contact you