Red Light and Stop Sign Tickets in Mississippi

Read about Mississippi’s red light and stop sign laws and the costs of a violation.

If you get caught running a stop sign or red light in Mississippi, you’ll typically be looking at a fine. This article gives an overview of what the law prohibits and some of the specific consequences of a stop sign or red light violation.

(Also, read about the options for dealing with a traffic citation.)

Making the Stop

At a red light (solid or flashing) or a stop sign, motorists generally must come to a complete stop prior to the nearest of reaching a clearly visible line, entering the crosswalk at the near side of the intersection, or entering the intersection.

Right-On-Red Rule

Mississippi law allows motorists to make a right turn after stopping at a red light unless there’s a sign indicating the turn is prohibited. Drivers must use caution and follow right-of-way rules when making a right on red.

Left-on-Red Rule

In Mississippi, a motorist can do a left turn after stopping at a red light only from a one-way street onto another one-way street. Of course, motorists need to follow the normal right-of-way rules and proceed with caution when making the turn.

Meaning of a Yellow Light

A yellow light warns motorist that the signal is about to turn red. Motorists must stop at a yellow light unless they are so close to the intersection that a stop can’t be safely made.

Red Light Cameras

Lots of states use automated cameras at intersections to catch drivers running red lights. However, Mississippi law prohibits the use of red light cameras in the state. Mississippi also prohibits an out-of-state red light camera ticket from going on a motorist’s driving record or affecting the motorist’s insurance rates.

Penalties for Violations

Red light and stop sign violations are misdemeanors in Mississippi. For a first offense, the motorist is looking at up to $100 in fines or a maximum ten days in jail. A second offense within a year carries up to $200 in fines and/or a maximum 20 days in jail. And a motorist convicted of a third violation within a year faces up to $500 in fines and/or a maximum six months jail time.

Eligible drivers can avoid having the conviction go on their record by completing a “traffic safety violator course.” These courses are at least four hours long.

Depending on the circumstances, red light or stop sign violation could also lead to a reckless driving conviction. And if one these violations leads to a fatality, vehicular manslaughter charges are another possibility.

FEATURED LISTINGS FROM NOLO
Swipe to view more

Talk to a Lawyer

Need a lawyer? Start here.

How it Works

  1. Briefly tell us about your case
  2. Provide your contact information
  3. Choose attorneys to contact you
NEED PROFESSIONAL HELP ?

Talk to a Traffic Ticket attorney.

How It Works

  1. Briefly tell us about your case
  2. Provide your contact information
  3. Choose attorneys to contact you