Like most other states, Florida has two types of speeding laws: "absolute speeding limits" and a "basic speeding law." This article explains the differences between the two and the costs and other consequences of getting a speeding ticket.
Florida's basic speeding law prohibits driving at a speed that is "greater than is reasonable and prudent under the conditions and having regard to the actual and potential hazards then existing. In other words, motorists must always drive at a safe speed.
What a safe speed is will depend on the circumstances. For instance, on a certain road, 55 miles per hour might be safe on a bright, sunny day. But if it's dark and the road is wet, going 55 miles per hour could be dangerous and a violation of the basic speeding law.
You can get a ticket for violating the basic speed law even if you weren't going faster than the posted maximum speed limit
There's no trick to how Florida's absolute speed limits (also called "maximum speed limits") work: If the sign says the speed limit is 40 miles per hour and you drive faster than 40 miles per hour, you've violated the law.
Generally, the maximum speed limits for:
Florida law requires that maximum speed limits be clearly posted.
For a speeding ticket, a Florida driver is generally looking at fines and traffic violation points.
The costs of a speeding ticket depend on where you get the ticket and how faster you were going in relation to the speed limit.
Base fines. The "base fines" are set by state law and are as follows:
However, the base fine isn't the total a driver will pay for a speeding ticket. There are fees and costs that get tacked on. In each county, the fees and costs are a little different.
School zones. For speeding violations that occur in school crossing zones, the base fines are doubled.
Constructions zones. When a speeding violation takes place in a construction zone where personnel is present or operating machinery, the base fine will be doubled.
Enhanced penalty zones. Florida has "enhanced penalty zones" on certain roadways. For speeding violations that occur in one of these zones, the base fine is increased by $50.
Toll collection areas. Fines for speeding violations are doubled if committed in toll collection areas.
Two or more excessive speeding violations (super speeder). If a driver is convicted of exceeding the speed limit by at least 30 miles per hour two or more times within a 12-month period, the base fine will be doubled.
Typically, a speeding violation will add demerit points to a motorist's driving record. The number of points for speeding is:
Drivers who accumulate 12 or more points within a 12-month period face license suspension of up to 30 days. The suspension period can be longer if the driver gets at least 18 points in 18 months (up to three-month suspension) or 24 points in 36 months (up to a year of suspension).
A judge can also order the driver to participate in a driver improvement school in addition to or in lieu of the fine for a speeding violation.