Hawaii has two types of speeding laws: a "basic speeding rule" and maximum speed limits. This article explains the differences between the two and the consequences of a speeding violation.
Hawaii's basic speeding rule prohibits driving at a speed greater than is "reasonable and prudent" under the circumstances. The basic speeding rule requires drivers to take into account all current conditions and existing hazards such as weather, traffic, visibility, and the like.
Hawaii's maximum speed limits are straightforward—if you exceed the maximum limit, you've violated the law and can be ticketed. Maximum speed limits should be posted and generally apply to all drivers. However, in addition to the posted limits, Hawaii imposes a maximum speed limit on mopeds of 35 miles per hour.
Typical speeding tickets. The consequences of a speeding violation depend on the circumstances. Generally, the fines for a speeding ticket are:
There's also a $10 surcharge added to tickets involving a speed of more than ten miles per hour over the limit.
School and construction zones. The fine for speeding in a school or construction zone is $250 plus a surcharge of $100 (construction zone) to $125 (school zone).
Excessive speeding. Motorists who are caught driving 80 miles per hour or faster or exceeding a speed limit by at least 35 miles per hour can be cited for "excessive speeding"—a petty misdemeanor. The penalties for excessive speeding include:
All drivers convicted of excessive speed also must complete an assessment for driver education and complete an instruction in driving retraining course.
If a speeding violation involves a "reckless" "disregard of the safety of persons or property," the driver can be charged with reckless driving. And if a speeding violation leads to the death of another person, negligent (vehicular) homicide charges are a possibility.