Kansas has two types of speeding laws: a “basic speeding law” and “absolute limits.” This article explains the differences between the two and the consequences of a speeding violation.
(Also, check out our article that discusses the different types of speeding laws.)
Kansas’s basic speeding law prohibits driving “at a speed greater than is reasonable and prudent under the conditions and having regard to the actual hazards then existing.” In other words, motorists must always drive at a safe speed. What a safe speed is will depend on the circumstances. For instance, 55 miles per hour might be safe on a bright, sunny day. But if it’s dark and the road is icy, going 55 miles per hour could be dangerous and a violation of the basic speeding law.
(Kan. Stat. Ann. § 8-1557 (2017).)
There is no trick to how Kansas’s absolute speed limits work: If the fixed speed limit is 50 miles per hour and you drive faster than that, you’ve violated the law. Kansas’s absolute speed limits include:
(Kan. Stat. Ann. § 8-1558 (2017).)
Generally, anyone convicted of a speeding violation will have to pay a fine plus court costs. Court costs vary depending on the location of the violation but are typically around $25. Fines also vary by location but usually range from about $25 to $300 or more, depending on the amount by which the driver exceeded the speed limit.
In certain circumstances, a speeding violation might lead to a “reckless driving” conviction. A standard first offense carries five to 90 days in jail and/or $25 to $500 in fines. (Kan. Stat. Ann. § 8-1566 (2017)
(Read more about Kansas’s reckless driving laws and penalties.)