Alabama law requires children younger than six years old to be secured in an appropriate child restraint system. However, the law provides exceptions for certain types of vehicles and specific situations.
Alabama requires that drivers use a child restraint system that meets federal motor vehicle standards and is installed and attached securely according to the seat manufacturer instructions.
Children who are younger than one year old or weigh less than 20 pounds must be restrained with a rear-facing system, whereas children who are younger than four years old and weigh less than 40 pounds must be restrained in a forward-facing system. After reaching four years old or 40 pounds, a child can start using a booster seat. The law requires seatbelts for children who are six to 15 years old.
Alabama’s child restraint law doesn’t apply to a person who’s transporting a child using a taxi or a vehicle that carries 11 or more passengers (for example, a city or school bus).
Drivers who are caught violating Alabama’s child restraint laws will be looking at a fine of $25 for each offense and demerit points assessed against their driving record. For a first offense, a driver will have one point assessed. A second or subsequent offense will result in two points.
Judges have the option of dismissing a child-restraint-law ticket for drivers who can provide proof of purchasing an appropriate child restraint system.
From time to time, recalls are issued for child car seats. To find out about recalls, you can register with the NHTSA to receive recall information about the seat you have or search for recalls that have already been issued.