Nevada’s Child Car Restraint and Seat Belt Laws

Nevada’s child restraint system and seatbelt requirements and the penalties for a violation.

Nevada’s child restraint law requires children younger than six years old and weighing 60 pounds or less to be secured in a child restraint system. The law also provides exceptions for certain types of vehicles and situations.

Here are the basics of the law and penalties for a violation.

Child Restraint System Defined

Nevada defines a child restraint system as “any device that is designed for use in a motor vehicle to restrain, seat or position children.” These devices include any of the following:

  • booster seats and belt-position seats that are designed to elevate a child to safely allow safety belt use
  • integrated child seats
  • safety belts that are designed specifically to be adjusted to accommodate children.

The type of restraint system parents should use generally depends on the size of the child.

Child Restraint System Requirements

Nevada requires that drivers use a child restraint system that is approved by the United States Department of Transportation, appropriate to the child’s size and weight, and installed and attached securely according to the seat manufacturer instructions.

Exceptions

Nevada’s child restraint law doesn’t apply to a person who’s transporting a child using public transportation, including a taxi, school bus, or emergency vehicle.

Nevada also provides a medical exception to the child restraint law. If a physician determines that the use of a child restraint system would be impractical or dangerous to the child, the driver doesn’t have to follow the child restraint requirements. However, drivers must carry a signed note from a physician verifying the exemption.

Penalties

The fines and community service requirements for violating the child restraint law depend on the driver’s history of violating this law. For a first or second offense, the judge has the choice of ordering a fine or community service.

Fine

Community Service

First offense

$100 to $500

10 to 50 hours

Second offense

$500 to $1000

50 to 100 hours

At the time of sentencing, the court is supposed to inform the driver of the opportunity to take a class that teaches about child restraint safety. If a driver takes the class within 60 days of sentencing, the judge will waive the fine and community service for a first offense. If it’s the driver’s second offense, the judge will reduce the fine or community service by half.

If a driver is found guilty of a third or subsequent violation, the Nevada DMV will suspend the driver’s license for a period of 30 to 180 days.

Violations of this law are not considered moving violations—meaning, the DMV won’t add demerit points to the driver’s record for these violations.

Child Car Seat Recalls

From time to time, recalls are issued for child car seats. To find out about recalls, you can register with the NHTSA to receive recall information about the seat you have or search for recalls that have already been issued.

Talk to a Lawyer

Need a lawyer? Start here.

How it Works

  1. Briefly tell us about your case
  2. Provide your contact information
  3. Choose attorneys to contact you
NEED PROFESSIONAL HELP ?

Talk to a Traffic Ticket attorney.

How It Works

  1. Briefly tell us about your case
  2. Provide your contact information
  3. Choose attorneys to contact you