North Dakota’s Child Safety Seat and Seatbelt Laws

North Dakota’s car seat laws and the penalties of a violation.

North Dakota has different seatbelt and car seat requirements depending on the passenger's age and size and the seat location. Below is an overview of the requirements and violation penalties associated with North Dakota's child restraint laws.

North Dakota's Front Seat Requirements

All front-seat occupants are required to wear seatbelts.

Violations. A front-seat occupant who's not wearing a seatbelt faces a fine of $25. However, no license demerit points will be assessed and a driver cannot be stopped for this violation alone.

Exceptions. Vehicles designed for 11 or more passengers and vehicles manufactured without seatbelts are exempt from the normal rules. Likewise, agriculture workers and rural letter carriers are not required to wear seatbelts while working. A physician can also provide an exemption by certifying that an individual has a physical or medical condition preventing the use of a seatbelt or other restraints.

Under 18 Requirements

Until a passenger turns 18 years old, he or she must be properly secured with a seatbelt or child restraint system.

Under eight years old. All children under eight years old must be properly secured in an appropriate child restraint system. The appropriate restraint may be a rear- or forward-facing car seat or booster seat, depending on the child's age, weight, and height. All restraints should be used consistent with the manufacturer's instructions. A child who's at least 57 inches tall is not required to use a child restraint system.

Under 18 years old. Children who have outgrown child restraints must still wear seatbelts.

Violations. The driver will be liable for any minor passenger not properly secured. A violation will result in a $25 fine and one demerit point towards the driver's license.

Exceptions. The restraint requirement does not apply to vehicles not manufactured with seatbelts or in medical emergencies.

More Information and Resources

For more information about child restraint systems, check the recommendations of the Center for Disease Control. It's also a good idea to register your car seat to be notified regarding recalls.

Talk to a Lawyer

Need a lawyer? Start here.

How it Works

  1. Briefly tell us about your case
  2. Provide your contact information
  3. Choose attorneys to contact you
Get Professional Help

Talk to a Traffic Ticket attorney.

How It Works

  1. Briefly tell us about your case
  2. Provide your contact information
  3. Choose attorneys to contact you