Utah's Reckless and Driving Laws and Penalties

Read about Utah’s reckless driving laws and the consequences of a conviction.

In Utah, reckless driving is a crime and can lead to jail time, fines, and license suspension. This article explains how Utah defines reckless driving and the penalties you'll face for a conviction.

What Is Considered "Reckless Driving" in Utah?

Reckless driving is a crime in Utah. A person can be convicted for:

  • driving in a "willful or wanton disregard for the safety of persons or property"
  • by driving on a highway at 105 miles per hour or faster, or
  • by committing three separate moving violations within a continuous three miles of driving.

The term "willful" refers to conduct that is intentional or purposeful. "Wanton" generally means the person understood but disregarded the consequences of the conduct. And "moving violations" include traffic offenses like speeding, driving under the influence (DUI), and running a red light. (Utah Code Ann. § 41-6a-528.)

Utah's Reckless Driving Penalties

Reckless driving is a class B misdemeanor in Utah. Convicted motorists face up to six months in jail and a maximum of $1,000 in fines. For a first reckless driving conviction, the Driver License Division (DLD) can suspend the driver's license for up to three months upon the recommendation of the judge. License suspension is mandatory for a second reckless driving violation within a 12-month period.

A reckless driving conviction will add 80 demerit points to the motorist's driving record. Generally, accumulating 200 or more points within a three-year period can lead to license suspension.

Reducing a DUI to Reckless Driving in Utah

In some states, it's possible for a driver who's charged with a DUI, to "plea bargain" for a lesser charge. When a DUI is plea-bargained down to a reckless driving charge, it's sometimes called a "wet reckless."

Utah law doesn't prohibit plea bargaining in DUI cases. So, for someone who's accused of driving under the influence in Utah, plea bargaining for a reckless driving charge is a possibility.

Talk to a Utah Defense Attorney

The facts of every case are different. If you've been arrested for or charged with reckless driving, get in contact with an experienced defense attorney. A qualified attorney can explain how the law applies to the facts of your case and help you decide on how best to handle your situation.

Defend your rights. We've helped 95 clients find attorneys today.
First Name is required
First Name is required
Talk to a Defense attorney
We've helped 95 clients find attorneys today.
There was a problem with the submission. Please refresh the page and try again
Full Name is required
Email is required
Please enter a valid Email
Phone Number is required
Please enter a valid Phone Number
Zip Code is required
Please add a valid Zip Code
Please enter a valid Case Description
Description is required

How It Works

  1. Briefly tell us about your case
  2. Provide your contact information
  3. Choose attorneys to contact you