If you get a stop sign or red light ticket in Vermont, you’ll likely be looking at having to pay a fine and demerit points being assessed to your driving record. This article gives an overview of what the law prohibits and some of the consequences of a stop sign or red light violation.
(Also, read about the options for dealing with a traffic citation.)
Motorists approaching a stop sign or a signal exhibiting a red light (solid or flashing) must come to a complete stop prior to the nearest of entering the crosswalk, reaching a clearly marked stop line, or entering the intersection itself.
As long as there’s no sign specifically restricting it, Vermont law permits drivers to make a right turn after stopping at a red light. However, drivers need to use caution and follow the normal right-of-way rules when making the turn.
Some states don’t allow left turns on red, regardless of the circumstances. However, in Vermont, drivers are permitted to turn left after stopping at a red light at the intersection of two one-way streets. In other words, a motorist can make a left on red from a one-way street onto another one-way street.
In some states, it’s against the law to enter an intersection once the signal has turned yellow. In Vermont, however, a solid yellow light is just a warning that the signal is about to turn red. In other words, you can enter an intersection while the light is still yellow, just not after it has turned red.
A red light fine is usually around $220. And stop sign ticket will generally run about $160.
Generally, a stop sign or light conviction will add two demerit points to a motorist’s driving record. A driver who accumulates too many points may face license suspension.
Depending on the circumstances, a red light or stop sign violation could lead to a negligent operation conviction. And a driver who runs a red signal or stop sign and causes a fatality may face vehicular manslaughter charges.