West Virginia’s Traffic Violation Point System

The points and license-related penalties associated with traffic tickets in West Virginia.

In West Virginia, a traffic ticket generally results in fines and fees. The West Virginia Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) will also record and assess points for each conviction, including out-of-state convictions. West Virginia uses these points to identify high-risk drivers. License-related penalties result if a driver acquires too many points within a certain period of time.

Point Values for Traffic Violations

Here are the points assigned to some of the most common traffic violations.

Violation

Points assessed

Reckless driving

6

Hit and run

6

Speeding in school zone

6

Eluding law enforcement

8

Failure to obey traffic signal

3

Driving on left side of roadway

3

Speed too fast for conditions

3

Speeding 20 miles per hour or more over limit

6

Speeding 15 to 19 miles per hour over limit

5

Speeding 11 to 14 miles per hour over limit

3

Speeding 10 miles per hour or less over limit

0

Failure to yield right-of-way

3

Improper passing

3

Railroad violation

3

Lighting violation

2

Tailgating

2

More than three persons in front seat

2

Improper backing

2

Wrong way on one-way street

3

Improper turning

2

Littering

3

Unlicensed driving

2

Other moving violations

2

Equipment or weight violations

0

If more than one violation occurs in the same incident, only the violation with the highest value will be assessed for points.

Consequences of Accumulating Too Many Points

The West Virginia DMV will issue a notice of suspension once a driver accumulates 12 or more points. Points are removed two years after the date of conviction. The suspension is generally effective ten days after mailing of the notice. The period of suspension depends on the current number of points the driver has on his or her record.

  • 12 to 13 points will result in a 30-day suspension
  • 14 to 15 points will result in a 45-day suspension
  • 16 to 17 points will result in a 60-day suspension
  • 18 to 19 points will result in a 90-day suspension, and
  • 20 or more points will result in license suspension until the driver’s point total is reduced to less than 12 points.

All drivers are permitted to request an administrative hearing to contest a point-related suspension. The DMV officer will review the file and affirm the suspension if the record and point total are correct.

Point Reduction

As noted above, points will be removed two years from the date of conviction. But three points will also be removed if the driver voluntarily completes an approved defensive driving course. However, this option for removing points is available only once a year and only to drivers with less than 14 points.

Drivers who have received notice of suspension for 12 or 13 points can complete the defensive driving course—reducing their point total by three points—and avoid suspension altogether.

Talk to a Lawyer

Need a lawyer? Start here.

How it Works

  1. Briefly tell us about your case
  2. Provide your contact information
  3. Choose attorneys to contact you
NEED PROFESSIONAL HELP ?

Talk to a Traffic Ticket attorney.

How It Works

  1. Briefly tell us about your case
  2. Provide your contact information
  3. Choose attorneys to contact you